To improve your search experience and gain access to advanced features, always begin by clicking the Sign In button pictured below.
Once you have signed in to LibrarySearch you can:
Please note: LibrarySearch times out after 30 minutes of inactivity, automatically signing you out and resetting itself to the default search page.
If searching with quotations around your title phrase is not successful, try using Advanced Search with the following settings:
To find primary sources @ U of T or online visit the "How to Find Primary Sources" Page for more information
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences by
A combination of broad disciplinary coverage and scientific excellence, the Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences will be an indispensable addition to the library of anyone interested in forests, forestry and forest sciences. Packed with valuable insights from experts all over the world, this remarkable set not only summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, but also thoroughly covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry. The Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management. Valuable key features further enhance the utility of this Encyclopedia as an exceptional reference tool. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Forestry by
The dictionary contains terms used today in forest science, management and conservation, comprising forest ecology, forest entomology and pathology, forest fire management, forest geomatics, forest meteorology and hydrology, forest soils and geomorphology, forest surveys and mensuration, genetics and tree improvement, harvesting and forest operations, integrated forest management, photogrammetry and remote sensing, physico-mechanical properties of wood, processing (panels, pulp and paper, sawing, etc.), silviculture, tree physiology, agroforestry, urban forestry, wildlife and wilderness management and arboriculture, wood anatomy and structure.
An Historical Dictionary of Forestry and Woodland Terms by
An Historical Dictionary of Forestry and Woodland Terms describes the special words used by those working or hunting in England′s woodlands and forests from the early Middle Ages until the present. The author does not simply give the meanings of words: he describes the customs and practices to which they refer, and frequently adds quotations from contemporary sources, the latter ranging from medieval royal charters and Shakespeare′s As You Like It to such books as Taylor′s Common Good or the Emprovements of Commons (1652), John Evelyn′s Sylva (1664) and Jefferies′s Wildlife in a Southern County (1879). From this dictionary the reader will not only learn the meaning of such terms as pismires, perambulation, furlong and quaking ash, but will find brief histories of the forest courts of the Middle Ages, and the lawing of dogs. Long entries describe such complex procedures as bark-stripping, dishing and dressing, and the care and exploitation of coppice. Many words and practices described here survived until the recent past and some are still in use today. This unique book will be welcomed by everyone interested in the history of English rural life in which woodlands and forests have played, over the centuries, such a vital role. The entries are fully referenced and illustrated where appropriate with line drawings.
The Management of Tropical Moist Forest Lands by
This book is a comprehensive guide to fundamental ecological principles in tropical moist forest lands. This edition has been revised to encompass our increased knowledge and understandings of the complexities of forest management. It addresses the cross-cutting issues: the effects of government policies, land allocation and infrastructure development in forest lands. An analysis is made regarding various forest uses: forests for wood, forests for agriculture and forests for nature conservation and environmental protection.
Tropical Forestry Handbook by
This book provides a cross-section of all outstanding experience in all fields of tropical forestry under a drastically changing environment induced by climate change. It sheds light on the existing know-how and presents it in a concise and efficient way for the scientist and professional in charge of planning, implementing and evaluating forest resources. The Tropical Forestry Handbook provides proven and/or promising alternative concepts which can be applied to solve organizational, administrative and technical challenges prevailing in the tropics. Presented are state of the art methods in all fields concerning tropical forestry. Emphasis is given to methods which are adapted to- and which safeguard - environmental conditions.
Urban and Community Forestry in the Northeast by
This book is a textbook for Urban/Community Forestry courses and a handbook for Shade Tree Commissions, tree wardens, State and National Forestry Services, and professional societies. It is the most complete text in this field because it addresses both culture and management, and the chapters have been written by experts who are active practitioners. The book provides observations and examples relevant to every urban center in the U.S. and elsewhere.
Forests Sourcebook by
The Forests Source Book provides practical operations-oriented guidance for forest sector engagement toward the goals of poverty reduction, conservation and economic development. Intended to guide World Bank lending activities and projects, the Forests Source Book offers information useful to a broad audience of practitioners, government agencies, and non-governmental organizations. The Source Book was developed in partnership with members of the Collaborative Partnership on Forests, including the Food and Agriculture Organization. The Source Book provides background on key issues, lessons learned, and recommendations for practitioners on a number of topics including private sector engagement, forest governance, sustainable plantation and commercial harvesting, and forest information management systems. Giving insight into the complex interplay between different realms of development work that effect or are affected by forests, the Forests Sourcebook is a valuable tool for any stakeholder involved in development or business projects that could have impact on forests.
Handbook of Forest Resource Economics by
It is increasingly recognized that the economic value of forests is not merely the production of timber. Forests provide other key ecosystem services, such as being sinks for greenhouse gases, hotspots of biodiversity, tourism and recreation. They are also vitally important in preventing soil erosion and controlling water supplies, as well as providing non-timber forest products and supporting the livelihoods of many local people. This handbook provides a detailed, comprehensive and broad coverage of forest economics, including traditional forest economics of timber production, economics of environmental role of forests, and recent developments in forest economics. The chapters are grouped into six parts: fundamental topics in forest resource economics; economics of forest ecosystems; economics of forests, climate change, and bioenergy; economics of risk, uncertainty, and natural disturbances; economics of forest property rights and certification; and emerging issues and developments. Written by leading environmental, forest, and natural resource economists, the book represents a definitive reference volume for students of economics, environment, forestry and natural resource economics and management.
The Forest Landscape Restoration Handbook by
'This book has been written by a team of experts from a wide variety of institutions... The result is by far the most comprehensive and easy to understand treatment of FLR yet written.' ACHIM STEINER (DIRECTOR GENERAL, IUCN) AND MANOEL SOBRAL FILHO (EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, ITTO), FROM THE PREFACE Forest loss and degradation have caused a decline in the quality of ecosystem services around the world. But fixing the problem takes more than just planting trees; practitioners increasingly realize that a landscape approach is essential. This handbook, authored and edited by international authorities in the field of forestry, is the first practical guide to using forest landscape restoration (FLR) to repair the damage done to forest lands by poor land management practice. Using research backed by respected institutions such as ITTO and the World Conservation Union (IUCN), it explains how to increase the resilience of landscapes and the communities they support through FLR. The main aim of FLR is not to re-establish pristine forest, even if this were possible; rather, the objective is to make landscapes more resilient and thereby keep future management options open. It also aims to support communities as they strive to increase and sustain the benefits they derive from land management. This book explains the concept of FLR and guides the reader through the steps that must be taken to put it into practice. It is an indispensable aid for practitioners in all aspects of forestry and natural resource management. Published with ITTO and IUCN
The Sibley Guide to Trees by
David Allen Sibley, the preeminent, bestselling bird-guide author and illustrator, applies his formidable skills of identification and illustration to the trees of North America. The Sibley Guide to Trees is an astonishingly elegant guide to a complex subject. It condenses a huge amount of information about tree identification--more than has ever been collected in a single book--into a logical, accessible, easy-to-use format. With more than 4,100 meticulous, exquisitely detailed paintings, the Guide highlights the often subtle similarities and distinctions between more than 600 tree species--native trees as well as many introduced species. No other guide has ever made field identification so clear. Features highlighted include: * leaves (including multiple leaf shapes and fall leaf color) * bark * needles * cones * flowers * fruit * twigs * silhouettes More than 500 maps show the complete range, both natural and cultivated, for nearly all species. Trees are arranged taxonomically, with all related species grouped together. By focusing on the fundamental characteristics of, for example, oaks or chestnuts or hickories, the Guide helps the user recognize these basic species groups the same way birders recognize thrushes, warblers, or sparrows. In addition, there are essays on taxonomy, on the cultivation of trees, and on conservation issues, reflecting Sibley's deep concern with habitat preservation and environmental health. An important new contribution to our understanding of the natural world, The Sibley Guide to Trees will be a necessity for every tree lover, traveler, and naturalist. It is sure to become the new benchmark in field guides to trees.
The Fate of the Forest by
The Amazon rain forest covers more than five million square kilometers, amid the territories of nine different nations. It represents over half of the planet's remaining rain forest. Is it truly in peril? What steps are necessary to save it? To understand the future of Amazonia, one must know how its history was forged: in the eras of large pre-Columbian populations, in the gold rush of conquistadors, in centuries of slavery, in the schemes of Brazil's military dictators in the 1960s and 1970s, and in new globalized economies where Brazilian soy and beef now dominate, while the market in carbon credits raises the value of standing forest. Susanna Hecht and Alexander Cockburn show in compelling detail the panorama of destruction as it unfolded, and also reveal the extraordinary turnaround that is now taking place, thanks to both the social movements, and the emergence of new environmental markets. Exploring the role of human hands in destroying--and saving--this vast forested region, The Fate of the Forest pivots on the murder of Chico Mendes, the legendary labor and environmental organizer assassinated after successful confrontations with big ranchers. A multifaceted portrait of Eden under siege, complete with a new preface and afterword by the authors, this book demonstrates that those who would hold a mirror up to nature must first learn the lessons offered by some of their own people.
Tropical Agroforestry by
Agroforestry is the cultivation, by farmers, of trees or other woody plants with crops or pasture. Its scientific study is attracting great interest and increasing funding because of its potential to produce sustainable agricultural systems and agroforestry is now included in most university and college courses covering land use subjects. Tropical Agroforestry is the first book that provides an analytical account of the principles, as well as the practices, of agroforestry within the context of the needs of land occupiers and, in so doing, describes the various specialist aspects that are now emerging as part of this discipline. The main objective throughout the book is to present, in a readable way, the underlying functional basis of woody/non-woody plant mixtures and to give a balanced account of how agroforestry can contribute to sustainable production from land. Understanding the biology of multipurpose trees is a key to this.
Plantation Forestry in the Tropics by
Development of planted forests in tropical and subtropical countries is accelerating to satisfy the ever-growing global demand for wood products. Indeed, it is expected that within 20 years half of all wood fibre in the world will be sourced from plantations, of which more than half are in thetropics and subtropics. As well as intensively managed industrial wood plantations, trees are increasingly being planted as part of farming systems - to control erosion and rehabilitate degraded lands and forests. Active community involvement in tree planting as part of rural development is nowwidespread and welcome. Plantation Forestry in the Tropics provides an overview that sets plantation silviculture in the wider context of development processes and their social, environmental and ecological impacts. The structure and approach of previous editions have been retained but every chapterhas been comprehensively revised and updated. Two new chapters, one on clonal forestry, the other on ecological restoration, have also been added although the central theme remains the silviculture that underpins successful industrial planted forests. Overall, the book provides an up-to-date accountof silvicultural practices, some of the socio-economic essentials, and the key role tree planting now plays in natural resource management and improving rural livelihoods in the tropics. Contemporary issues such as full stakeholder participation and sustainable management practices in plantedforests are also addressed. The authors have drawn on their field experience from over 40 tropical and sub-tropical countries, and readers will find examples from Africa, Latin America, tropical Asia and the Pacific. Both the historical context and recent developments are presented, and examples aredrawn from industrial plantations, rural development plantings, agroforestry and tree planting for soil protection and rehabilitation of degraded forests. Students, professional foresters, development specialists, and all with an interest in tropical forest management will find this a valuablereference text.
Breakfast of Biodiversity by
In Breakfast of Biodiversity, John Vandermeer and Ivette Perfecto insightfully describe the ways in which such disparate factors as the international banking system, modern agricultural techniques, rain forest ecology, and the struggles of the poor interact to bring down the forest. They weave an alternative vision in which democracy, sustainable agriculture, and land security for the poor are at the center of the movement to save the tropical environment. This new, fully updated edition of Breakfast of Biodiversity discusses important new developments in our understanding of rain forest biology and assesses the impacts of a decade of "free" trade on the rain forest and on those who live in and around it.
Forestry and Biodiversity by
As global demand for forest products increases, conserving biodiversity has become more urgent and challenging. Forestry and Biodiversity advocates adaptive management � a structured approach to learning by doing � to sustain biodiversity in managed forests. It draws on the theory and principles of conservation biology and forest ecology and illustrates them, and the challenges they pose, through a practical, real-world study of commercial forestry in a coastal temperate rainforest. This book will be of interest to those who plan, or hope to influence, forest practices and the future of the environment.
Voices from the Forest by
This handbook of locally based agricultural practices brings together the best of science and farmer experimentation, vividly illustrating the enormous diversity of shifting cultivation systems as well as the power of human ingenuity. Environmentalists have tended to disparage shifting cultivation (sometimes called 'swidden cultivation' or 'slash-and-burn agriculture') as unsustainable due to its supposed role in deforestation and land degradation. However, a growing body of evidence indicates that such indigenous practices, as they have evolved over time, can be highly adaptive to land and ecology. In contrast, 'scientific' agricultural solutions imposed from outside can be far more damaging to the environment. Moreover, these external solutions often fail to recognize the extent to which an agricultural system supports a way of life along with a society's food needs. They do not recognize the degree to which the sustainability of a culture is intimately associated with the sustainability and continuity of its agricultural system. Unprecedented in ambition and scope, Voices from the Forest focuses on successful agricultural strategies of upland farmers. More than 100 scholars from 19 countries--including agricultural economists, ecologists, and anthropologists--collaborated in the analysis of different fallow management typologies, working in conjunction with hundreds of indigenous farmers of different cultures and a broad range of climates, crops, and soil conditions. By sharing this knowledge--and combining it with new scientific and technical advances--the authors hope to make indigenous practices and experience more widely accessible and better understood, not only by researchers and development practitioners, but by other communities of farmers around the world.
Indigenous Agroforestry in Latin America by
This literature review outlines the merits of traditional agroforestry systems in the rainforests of Latin America. Possibilities and limitations to the adoption of these methods by new colonist farmers, as an alternative to large scale forest destruction, are discussed. Research priorities are proposed for the development of sustainable agroforestry in the region from the wealth of indigenous knowledge. This booklet will not only be of interest to policy-makers and donor agencies, but also to those interested in the preservation of the rainforests.
Indigenous peoples and protected areas in Africa : from principles to practice by 
The Cutting Edge by
The growth in the scale and intensity of industrial forestry, has, directly and indirectly, degraded the wildlife and ecological integrity of tropical forests, prompting a need to evaluate the impact of forest management practices. This study examines the interplay between timber harvesting and wildlife, from hunted and protected habitats to invertebrates and large mammal species.
Twitter
YouTube
Instagram