Contains 10,000+ entries on all aspects of the environment and conservation. International in scope, it covers both scientific and social aspects of the environment—its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories.
Derived from the content of the respected "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, " 6th Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * A pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format
A project of alumni and students of the Presidio Graduate School, this is an open web-based dictionary for business leaders and students of sustainability and business-related terms.
IISD - Instruments for Change - Sustainable Production & Consumption - Definitions & Concepts
A brief set of definitions related to a project initiated in the late 1990s by the International Institute for Sustainable Development to develop an inventory of instruments or best practices to influence and change production and consumption.
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains 7,000 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. Written by a team of experts, it features the very latest terminology, for example, the recent vocabulary associated with structured finance and the associated subprime lending crisis, including collaterized debt obligation and special purposevehicle.The new edition of this established bestseller dispels modern financial and management jargon, defining entries in a clear, concise, and accessible manner. It contains US business terms,general management concepts (e.g. competence, knowledge management), named theories (e.g. Tannenbaum and Schmidt, Blake and Mouton) as well as expanded coverage of the contemporary theory of the firm and human resources. New terms are included from the fast-moving areas of current affairs (e.g. MiFID), Internet business and information technology and there is full coverage of the new Companies Act. With recommended web links for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via theDictionary of Business and Management companion website, this edition is more informative than ever. This A-Z reference work is essential for business students, teachers and professionals, and useful for anyoneneeding a guide to business terminology.