Skip to main content

MIE315: Design for the Environment

This research guide is designed to help students complete the literature review component of their assignment.

Find Articles

Below are a list of some popular databases in mechanical and industrial engineering. You can use these databases to find resources such as journal articles.

You can use a database to find articles related to mechanical and industrial engineering. A database will search across hundreds or even thousands of journals at once. U of T subscribes to multiple article databases that you can use to find articles from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources of information.

Many of the top engineering databases are linked from Engineering & Computer Science Library's homepage under Major Resources. Many of these databases also cover mechanical and industrial engineering.

Search Tips

  1. Explore Compendex (Engineering specific) or Scopus (interdisciplinary)
  2. Be sure to sort results by “Relevance”. In Scopus, the default display is sorting by "Most Recent"
  3. Experiment with the Filters – date, subject, document type
    • Subject heading filters: In Scopus, look for "Keywords" and in Compendex, look for "Controlled Vocabulary". Be sure to click on "View More" in bottom left corner of filter window to see all the subject headings
    • Document Types: In Scopus, you can narrow down your results by selecting "Review" so you only see literature review articles. 

Can't find full-text of your article?

Many databases have direct full-text links to the article online. If there is no full-text link, you must look up the journal or conference title in the UT library catalogue

Get it! U of T Libraries button
 
 
 

Searching Compendex for Journal Articles

This video explains the various ways that you can use Compendex - one of the major Engineering databases - to find articles relevant to your topic. The following is a link for more help with Compendex.

Searching Scopus for Journal Articles

This video explains the various ways that you can use Scopus - multi-disciplinary database - to find articles relevant to your topic. The following is a link for more help with Scopus.

Got a great article or book? Check the references and look up the resource using following online tools:

UTL catalogue toolbar All tab selected

What is peer review?

  • Peer review is the process by which colleagues critically appraise each other's work.
  • When the manuscript of an article is submitted to a peer-reviewed journal, independent experts are asked to read and comment on the manuscript. If approved by the reviewers, the manuscript is accepted for publication as an article in the journal.
  • The peer review process is applied to both primary articles (i.e. articles which present findings from original research) and to review articles that summarize primary research.
  • The purpose of peer review is to ensure a high level of scholarship and to improve the quality and readability of the manuscript.
  • Peer reviewed articles are also sometimes called "refereed" articles.​

For more information on the peer review process, please see the Peer Review Guide 

(including how to use Ulrich's Periodical Directory

Loading