Language Education

Teacher candidates need authentic practice with language learners so that they can test and hone their skills based on the concepts learned in their teacher education programs with real students. These candidates need practice before and beyond student teaching and fieldwork. If they are given the chance to practice during as many teacher education courses as possible and have access to language learners throughout their programs, they can focus on applying the specific content of each class they take in a real-world context with real students. Engaging Teacher Candidates and Language Learners With Authentic Practice highlights strategies teacher educators can use to give their teacher candidates authentic practice attached to coursework.

Teaching genres of fiction, non-fiction, and media need not intimidate new to middle school teachers who may be recent college graduates or veterans transitioning from elementary or high school. Here are strategies for designing culturally relevant lessons that include firm and fair grading guidelines, plans to teach literary terms specific to various genres, and suggestions for selecting appropriate texts that appeal to and expand horizons of diverse students in classrooms across the nation.

Decolonizing Foreign Language Education interrogates current foreign language and second language education approaches that prioritize white, western thought. Each chapter confronts the hold of colonialism and imperialism that inform and shape the relationship between foreign language education and literary studies by asserting that a critical approach to applied linguistics is just as important a tool for FL/ESL/EFL educators as literature or linguistic theory.

From bilingual education and racial epithets to gendered pronouns and immigration discourses, language is a central concern in contemporary conversations and controversies surrounding social inequality. Developed as a collaborative effort by members of the American Anthropological Association's Language and Social Justice Task Force, this innovative volume synthesizes scholarly insights on the relationship between patterns of communication and the creation of more just societies. Using case studies by leading and emergent scholars and practitioners written especially for undergraduate audiences, the book is ideal for introductory courses on social justice in linguistics and anthropology.

Higher Education Challenges for Migrant and Refugee Students in a Global World informs readers of theory, policy and practice of refugee and migrant equitable access to higher education, especially indicating how policy makers, educational leaders and practitioners can support refugees, asylum seekers, and other migrants' inclusion in higher education institutions in the global world. The chapters composing each section of this book constitute a compilation of research addressing experience relating to the overwhelming flow of refugee and asylum seekers in various higher education systems. There are 41 contributors located in 12 countries (Austria, Canada, Czechia, Germany, Holland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Palestine, Turkey and the United States) who deal with the topics of refugees and immigrants in higher education in different world regions, including Africa, the Middle East, Europe and North America.

Departments and language programs often are asked to evaluate the efficacy of their own programs and make curricular decisions on the basis of evidence. This guide, designed to help language educators meet the needs of program evaluation and assessment often requested by their institutions, provides step-by-step advice to help language educators conduct evaluation and assessment and to show how it can lead to meaningful programmatic decisions and change. With discussions about evaluation planning, advice for selecting data-collection tools, explanations for data analysis, examples based on actual evaluations, and more, this book provides everything you need to complete a successful language program evaluation that will give educators useful data on which to base curricular decisions. This short book is practical and timely and will find an audience in instructors of all languages and all levels.  

Researching Education for Social Justice in Multilingual Settings provides innovative guidance on carrying out qualitative research in education by offering a wide range of examples of research projects with a focus on the methodologies and data collection strategies used. Rather than decontextualised 'how-to' advice, the book offers insights into the complexities of actually carrying out research in multilingual settings. In this practical guide, examples of real-life projects are framed by chapters providing a theoretical background to the principles of ethnography and to the processes and practices of qualitative research, focusing on data generation and collection strategies. Case study chapters offer a rich understanding of the detail of qualitative research in education from the points of view of people who have engaged in it. Moreover, the book promotes understanding of current research that aims to make a difference to pupils, students, teachers and families whose diverse languages and cultural experiences are not fully valued in society and in mainstream education contexts. Pedagogical features that support private study and use on courses include a glossary of key terms, guiding questions for reading at the start of each section, and discussion questions to promote reflection as well as suggestions for further reading. Researching Education for Social Justice in Multilingual Settings is a supportive guide to the principles of ethnography and the processes of qualitative research for all those wishing to investigate complex problems in multilingual education settings.

Applying the principles of facilitative teaching to mentorship, this book brings together well-established knowledge about mentoring with the experiences and ideas of mentors in the field to advance and support the professional development of language teachers. Recognizing the impact of globalization and technology, Smith and Lewis identify processes and pathways for mentors to develop multi-layered skills for working with teachers in both their own and cross-cultural contexts, and in face-to-face and virtual settings. Grounded in theory, this innovative approach is illustrated with authentic experiences, and ready to be applied by readers in their specific settings around the world. With an interactive design that encourages participation and practice, each chapter includes vignettes, reflections, and challenging scenarios from mentors in training. Self-reflection and task sections at the end of each chapter engage the reader in combining theory with practice. Sample materials such as mentor-mentee contracts, work plans, journal templates, discussion suggestions (face-to-face or online), and observation forms deepen understanding and enable mentors to adapt or create their own materials. This practical and context-adaptable guide is accessible to mentors at any career stage, for use in personal professional development, or as part of mentor training sessions.

Many language teachers recognise the importance of integrating intercultural learning into language learning, but how this can be best achieved is not always apparent. This is particularly the case in foreign language learning contexts where teachers are working with a prescribed textbook and opportunities to use the language outside the classroom are limited. This book argues that teachers can work creatively with conventional resources and utilise classroom experiences in order to help learners interpret aspects of communication in insightful ways and develop awareness of the influence of cultural assumptions and values on language use. The book provides extensive analysis of a range of classroom interactions to demonstrate how teachers and learners can work together to construct opportunities for intercultural learning through reflection on pragmatics.