Skip to main content

CIV220: Toronto's Ecology & Infrastructure

Useful Article Databases

One of the databases below should help you find high quality research related to your topic. But if you're not finding what you need in one be sure to try another!

  1. Click on the name to be redirected to the database (see below).
  2. Once you submit a search, use the database filters to help narrow down your search results by:
  • Year
  • Subject heading (sometimes called controlled vocabulary)
  • Document type (check out "Review" in Scopus)

Finding Journal Articles

  • Use a database (e.g one of the links above) to find articles related to your write-up. 
  • A database will search hundreds or even thousands of journals at once. U of T subscribes to multiple article databases that you can use to find articles from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other credible sources of information.
  • Many of the top engineering databases that cover engineering are available from Engineering & Computer Science Library's homepage in the Major Resources box.
  • The video below shows other ways to find journal articles.

What is peer review?

Peer-review is a sort of 'quality assurance' mechanism. Watch the following video to learn more:

Find full text of the article you need

Getting your article:

  • Many databases have direct full-text links to the article online. 
  • Most indexes now have a 'get it!" button. Use this link to find online copies or to search the library catalogue automatically.

 

 

  • If there is no full-text link, you can look up the journal or conference title in the UT library catalogue to see if we have it in print or online.