Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

National Cinemas

Bibliographies

Cinema and Media Studies (Oxford Bibliographies Online, 2011+) "...a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites. With frequent updates..."

Note: In some cases, you can connect to the resources or the item record through the UTL Website, but direct access to the books & journal articles included within the bibliographies listed above may vary (e.g., print materials, not available at UofT); check LibrarySearch (by title) for local availability. 

Contact the Cinema Studies Librarian Kate Johnson with any questions. 

Italy Focused Bibliographies

Italian Cinema

Italian Cinema: A Bibliography of Books and Articles in the UC Berkeley Libraries (These bibliographies were archived on August 2018)

Cinecittà Studios

On individual directors and their films:

Subject Headings

Search with Subject Headings

  1. Click to start a new UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
  2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
  3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

 

Subject Headings

  • motion pictures Italy
  • motion pictures -- Italy -- aesthetics
  • motion pictures -- Italy -- history
  • motion pictures -- Italy -- history and criticism
  • motion pictures -- Italy -- reviews
  • motion picture industry Italy
  • motion picture producers and directors Italy
  • fascism and motion pictures Italy
  • realism in motion pictures
    • (this is where you'll find books on neorealism)

 

Individuals, directors, actors, etc. (Search as above; use last name, first name)

  • e.g., de sica, vittorio

Use Quotations to search for a specific phrase or title

  • e.g., "The Girl Who Knew Too Much"

Select Author instead of Subject, to find books written by the specific author (use last name, first name)

  • e.g., Bazin, André

 

Books & eBooks

This section includes a selection of books and ebooks for Italian Cinema. Additional records can be searched and accessed using LibrarySearch, please visit our Cinema Studies Guide for additional tips and information.

Articles (Newspapers, Magazines, Scholarly Journals)

For a complete list of Article resources and search tips, the links below will redirect you to the relevant Cinema Studies Guide pages. 

Cinema Studies - Articles

List of Cinema Studies eJournals (UTORid and some Open Access)

Recommended Article resources for Italian Cinema:

Newspapers

Follow this link Search within Newspapers and enter your keyword search terms in the search bar.

NOTE: Newspaper results are excluded form the default LibrarySearch results page.

To see Newspaper results click the 'Newspapers Search' hyperlink listed at the bottom of the Format filter on the left sidebar of results page.

Italian Newspapers:

Corriere della sera

Films & Streaming Media

A growing number of online video resources is now offered by UofT Libraries, available for classroom and individual streaming when logged in with your UTORid. Individual title records are available in the UofT Catalogue through LibrarySearch.

Online Streaming 

Streamable Film Collections via UofT Libraries (UTORid required)

Freely Available Online Video Resources (Open Access/Freely Available) - Scroll to the bottom of the page for the list.

Cinema Studies - Watch Films (Streaming & Physical media)

 

Recommended streaming for Italian cinema:

UTORid Required 

Kanopy

Open Access - No login required to access these resources (exceptions will be stated) 

European Film Gateway

Physical Media (DVD, Blu-ray, etc.)

Media Commons (MC) DVD, Blu-ray & Heritage Audiovisual Formats - Redirects to Media Commons information on physical media collections, search aids, and viewing facilities. 

UofT Media Archives

Media Commons (MC) Media Archives contains different film formats, personal & business documents, images & more with a focus on film / video production, advertising, electronic & print journalism, broadcasting, photographic arts, & multimedia / music production. Several collections have special focus on Canadian media & popular culture.​ ​

**APPOINTMENT REQUIRED (contact MC Media Archivists):​ mediacommons.library.utoronto.ca/contact-media-archives​ ​

Film Reviews

Film Reviews can be found in the Article databases and journals in the Articles section of this guide.

For a complete list of Film Review resources and search tips, the link below will redirect you to the relevant Cinema Studies Guide page.

Cinema Studies - Film Reviews

Film Reviews can also be found by looking directly in Newspapers from the nation. The link below will redirect you to the UTL Newspapers Guide and provides instructions for navigating our newspaper databases using LibrarySearch.

Newspapers Guide