Please use the navigation menu on the left side to jump to the different sections of the page:
|
Bibliographies Subject Headings Books & eBooks Articles (Newspapers, Magazines, Scholarly Journals) |
Archives & Primary Source Materials Films & Streaming Media Industry |
Cinema and Media Studies (Oxford Bibliographies Online, 2011+) "...a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites. With frequent updates..."
Note: In some cases, you can connect to the resources or the item record through the UTL Website, but direct access to the books & journal articles included within the bibliographies listed above may vary (e.g., print materials, not available at UofT); check LibrarySearch (by title) for local availability.
Contact the Cinema Studies Librarian Kate Johnson with any questions.
|
European Cinema European Cinema and TV |
Motion picture industry - Europe Motion picture industry - Europe - History Motion pictures - European influences |
This section includes a selection of books and ebooks for European Cinema. Additional records can be searched and accessed using LibrarySearch, please visit our Cinema Studies Guide for additional tips and information.
Cinema, Audiences and Modernity by 
European Cinema by 
European Cinema in Motion by 
European Cinema in the Twenty-First Century Discourses, Directions and Genres by 
Popular European Cinema by 
The Routledge Companion to European Cinema by For a complete list of Article resources and search tips, the links below will redirect you to the relevant Cinema Studies Guide pages.
Follow this link Search within Newspapers and enter your keyword search terms in the search bar.
NOTE: Newspaper results are excluded form the default LibrarySearch results page.
To see Newspaper results click the 'Newspapers Search' hyperlink listed at the bottom of the Format filter on the left sidebar of results page.
"A primary source is a document that was created at the time of the event or subject you've chosen to study, or by people who were observers of, or participants in that event or topic."
~ E.H. Brown, “Writing about History” UofT Writing Advice
Primary source materials include Text (film reviews, advertisements, business documents, personal records or diaries, press kits, scripts), Recordings (interviews, radio shows, film footage) & Objects (images, storyboards, costumes, musical scores) created in that time period.
A growing number of online video resources is now offered by UofT Libraries, available for classroom and individual streaming when logged in with your UTORid. Individual title records are available in the UofT Catalogue through LibrarySearch.
Visit the individual Nation pages in this Guide using the left sidebar navigation menu for nation-specific streaming resources.
Visit the UofT Cinema Studies Guide to learn more about finding and accessing physical media collections and viewing facilities.
Media Commons (MC) Media Archives contains different film formats, personal & business documents, images & more with a focus on film / video production, advertising, electronic & print journalism, broadcasting, photographic arts, & multimedia / music production. Several collections have special focus on Canadian media & popular culture.
This section contains resources that pertain to the film industry, production, and distribution of European cinema. These can be valuable resources for discovering upcoming productions, new directors, international and local film festivals, and the nation's key production companies and distributors.
Twitter
YouTube
Instagram