Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

National Cinemas

Finding Books - Southeast Asia

For the purposes of this guide, Southeast Asia includes: Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam.

Using the UTCat link below, enter any of the Subject Headings, exactly as they appear, in the Search Box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu.

UTCat Browse/Subject Search:

Subject Headings:

  • cold war in motion pictures indonesia
  • cold war in motion pictures southeast asia
  • comedy films southeast asia history and criticism
  • culture industries southeast asia
  • group identity asia
  • homosexuality in motion pictures thailand bangkok
  • identity (psychology) asia
  • independent films southeast asia history
  • mass media and gays thailand bangkok
  • mass media and women asia
  • motion picture audiences southeast asia history
  • motion picture industry singapore history
  • motion picture industry southeast asia
  • motion picture producers and directors singapore interviews
  • motion picture theaters singapore history
  • motion pictures asia
  • motion pictures chinese southeast asia
  • motion pictures indonesia (philippines, malaysia, etc)
  • motion pictures singapore history
  • motion pictures southeast asia history
  • motion pictures thailand
  • motion pictures thailand bangkok
  • motion pictures thailand social aspects
  • popular culture asia
  • popular culture malaysia (indonesia, etc)

Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

  • e.g., weerasethakul apichatpong

Finding Journal Articles

Interdisciplinary databases

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Bibliography

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help.

South and Southeast Asian Cinema

  • Includes Vietnam, Indonesia, and India (incl. bibliographies of books & journal articles on Satyajit Ray and reviews and articles about his individual films)
  • UC Berkeley Library's bibliography was archived in August 2018 and accessed through Internet Archive's Wayback Machine

Miscellaneous - Southeast Asia (books, articles, blogs, etc)