Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

• dogme 95
• motion picture industry sweden (denmark, finland, etc)
• motion picture producers and directors sweden (denmark, finland, etc)
• motion pictures scandinavia
• motion pictures sweden (denmark, finland, etc)
• scandinavia in motion pictures

Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

• e.g., kaurismaki aki

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Journals

• Journal of Scandinavian Cinema v. 1(2010)+
• Senses of Cinema (online journal) an excellent source for articles on individual directors and films.
• Northern Lights: Film and Media Studies Yearbook v. 1 (2002)+

Article

• Nordic Cinema, in Film History, Vol. 13, No. 1 (2001).

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help. 

Oxford Bibliographies Online

• Lars von Trier 
• The Passion of Joan of Arc (Carl Theodor Dreyer)

University of California-Berkeley Libraries 

• Please note that the following bibliographies were archived in August 2018. 
• Cinema of Scandinavia (incl. Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden). Contains reviews and articles on selected individual films, as well as bibliographies of books and articles about Dreyer, Bergman, and von Trier (see below).
  • Carl Theodor Dreyer
  • Ingmar Bergman
  • Lars von Trier

Background

• Historical dictionary of Scandinavian cinema Print only; Robarts
• Directory of World Cinema: Finland Ebook.
• World Film Locations: Helsinki Ebook.
• World Film Locations: Reykyavik Ebook.
• Hjort, Mette. Small nation, global cinema: the new Danish cinema. Ebook. Also at: Innis, Robarts.

Dissertations

• Nordfjord, B. A. (2005). Icelandic cinema: A national practice in a global context