Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings

How To Find Journal Articles

• How do I find an article by title in LibrarySearch?
• Not available through UofT Libraries? Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request

Research Databases

Film-specific databases

• FIAF International Film Archive provides International coverage in various languages of publications in a curated collection crafted by International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF).
  • This an OVID database which requires different search strategies so take a look at these search tips:  
    1. Search by one Subject Heading - OVID platform
    2. Search all fields by one Keyword  - OVID platform 
    3. Combine Searches - OVID platform 
  • To access the resource, use GET IT UTL button on left side of record to access item through UofT Libraries
    • Using FIAF Archive allows you to in International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) AND / OR 
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001).
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)

Interdisciplinary databases

• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content, use the filters for format, document type, subject, etc.)
• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film Indexes

Profiles on films and some film industry companies and people 

A pre-cursor to resources like IMDb, film indexes contain profiles on specific films with information on the production and people involved. Often there are overviews about the film's production and release as well as citations for key reviews and articles on the film (not linked, articles titles are not always provided, must look up the publication). 

• The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present.
  • Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
  • Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles (above) for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• Film Index International (British Film Institute).
  • Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
  • Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles (above) for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.

• Indigenous Media (Oxford Bibliographies Online)
• Native Americans (Oxford Bibliographies Online)
• Aboriginal Studies Research Guide (UTLibrary)
• Indigenous Feature Film Production in Canada: A National and International Perspective
• indigiTALKS Video Essay Project (accessible online until approx. May 18, 2014. For viewing after this date, contact info@imagineNATIVE.org, OR 416-585-2333)
• First person plural: aboriginal storytelling and the ethics of collaborative authorship EBOOK
• Coded Territories: Tracing Indigenous Pathways in New Media Art EBOOK