Skip to main content

National Cinemas

Finding Books - East Asian Cinema

Using the UTCat link below, enter any of the Subject Headings, exactly as they appear, in the search box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu: NOTE: Not case-sensitive; punctuation not necessary; leave a space between each word.

UTCat Browse/Subject Search

 

  • motion picture industry (china, japan, etc)
  • motion picture producers and directors china (Japan, Hong Kong, etc)
  • motion pictures china
  • motion pictures china hong kong
  • motion pictures hong kong
  • motion pictures japan
  • motion pictures korea and/or motion pictures korea north and/or motion pictures korea south
  • motion pictures political aspects china (hong kong, taiwan, japan, etc.)
  • motion pictures political aspects korea north
  • motion pictures political aspects korea south
  • motion pictures social aspects korea north
  • motion pictures social aspects korea south
  • motion pictures social aspects china (hong kong, taiwan, etc)
  • motion pictures taiwan

Finding Journal Articles

Interdisciplinary databases

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Journals

Hong Kong

A Companion to Hong Kong Cinema EBOOK

Historical dictionary of Hong Kong cinema Print only; Robarts

Hong Kong Scholarship Online(Hong Kong University Press). The site includes 2 film and film-related subject areas. With a few exceptions, all titles are online, fulltext:

Taiwan

North Korea

Books

Korean Cinema (bibliography) incl. numerous references to journal articles, monographs and book chapters on North Korean cinema incl.:

  • Lee, Hyangjin. Contemporary Korean Cinema: Identity, Culture and Politics. A survey of Korean films, this fact-packed volume is notable for extending its coverage to North Korean cinema, one of the least understood film industries in the world. Thorough and informative, this work is somewhat dated in terms of film history, as can be seen in the author’s acceptance of the nationalist interpretation of Na Un-gyu’s Arirang (1926) and other views challenged by recent scholarship.
  • Kim, Kyung Hyun. Virtual Hallyu: Korean Cinema of the Global Era. Kyung Hyun Kim’s follow-up to his pathbreaking study Kim 2004 takes a critical look at the global cultural dynamics of the “Korean New Wave,” and how they contextualize, impact and interact with notable Korean films made in the 21st century. His engagements with certain topics (North Koreans as the ethnic “Other,” for instance) and auteurs (such as Hong Sang-soo) are particularly provocative and interesting.
  • Armstrong, Charles K. “The Cultural Cold War in Korea, 1945–1950.” Journal of Asian Studies 62.1 (February 2003): 71–99. A premier historian of postwar Korea working in North America examines the propaganda expressed through a variety of cultural media, including pamphlets, cartoons, and, of course, cinema during the half-decade preceding the Korean War.
  • Berry, Chris. “All at Sea? National History and Historiology in Soul’s Protest and Phantom, the Submarine.” In The New Korean Cinema. Edited by Chi-Yun Shin and Julian Stringer, 144–158. Berry compares two films informed by the war trauma and national histories, one made in North Korea and the other in South Korea.</li>
  • Bevan, Jake. “Welcome to Panmunjeom: Encounters with the North in Contemporary South Korean Cinema.” New Cinemas: Journal of Contemporary Film 8.1 (2010): 45–57. Bevan looks at contemporary Korean War films and other South Korean productions that feature North Korea as a (sometimes unspoken) problem or a hidden mirror image, and explores how North Korea is used to construct the ostensibly unified Korean identity.
  • Yi Hyo-in. Shin Sang-ok. (Korean Film Directors series). Sin Sang-ok (b. 1926–d. 2006), whose checkered and prosperous career included a brief episode as a North Korean abductee and the dictator Kim Jong-il’s cinematic tutor, receives a well-balanced, critical analysis by Yi Hyo-in, followed by an interview, a biography, and an extensive filmography.