Skip to main content

National Cinemas

Finding Books - Canadian Cinema

Using the UTCat link below, enter any of the subject headings, exactly as they appear, in the Search Box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu. Not case-sensitive; no punctuation.

UTCat Browse/Subject Search:

  • Canadian literature Film adaptations
  • Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission
  • Documentary films Canada
  • Documentary films Political aspects Canada
  • experimental films Canada
  • Feminist films Canada
  • Mass media Canada
  • mass media Political aspects Canada
  • Mass media Social aspects Canada
  • Motion picture audiences Canada
  • motion picture industry canada
  • Motion picture locations Canada
  • Motion picture producers and directors canada
  • Motion picture producers and directors british columbia (ontario, quebec, etc.)
  • Motion picture theaters Canada
  • Motion pictures and literature Canada
  • Motion pictures and the arts Canada
  • motion pictures canada
  • motion pictures canada economic aspects
  • motion pictures canada, northern history
  • motion pictures canada political aspects
  • Motion pictures canada Social aspects
  • national film board of canada​
  • telefilm canada
  • Television broadcasting Canada
  • television Canada
  • Television industry Canada
  • Television program locations Canada
  • Video recordings Canada
  • Women motion picture producers and directors Canada

Individuals (Search as above; use last name, first name)

  • e.g., egoyan atom

NFB Film Critique assignment + Finding Journal Articles - Canadian Cinema

RE: NFB Film Critique assignment

2 Key Resources (immediately below) In all cases, don't hesitate to ask for assistance to get you started!!!

  • Canadian Film and Video: a bibliography and guide to the literature. Loren Lerner. 2 vols. 1997. EBOOK. Print versions at: INNIS, ROBA, SMC
    Note: This item will be especially useful for your assignment, as it contains Canadian material exclusively. Use the print version; the ebook is unwieldy.
  • ProQuest Note: This item too will be especially useful. Sample search: Enter search terms on separate lines e.g., enter title of film on the top line, director's last name below, so as to articulate your search request. Put phrases e.g., Winter Kept Us Warm in double "" quotes. Note: It may be useful to arrange the results chronologically (oldest first) in order to follow the entire production process of a particular film, from preliminary chat to reviews, box-office grosses, etc.

Interdisciplinary databases

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Bibliographies - Canadian Cinema

Canadian Cinema (Oxford Bibliographies Online).

Canadian Film and Video: a bibliography and guide to the literature. Loren Lerner. 2 vols. 1997. EBOOK. Print versions at: INNIS, ROBA, SMC. This impressive work aims "to provide access to the English and French Literature on film and video in Canada from the first decade of the 20th century to 1989. . . ." It identifies relevant articles in periodicals, both Canadian and foreign, as well as books, catalogues, government reports, theses, newspapers, and other types of print materials. [Contains] 24,800 entries, of which 10,800 are abstracted. . . ."

Canadian Women Film Directors DatabaseThis bilingual research tool contains bibliographies, filmographies, quotations, and other information about Canadian women directors and their films.

David Cronenberg (OBO)

Canadian Cinema Series Currently incl. a dozen titles on individual Canadian films; all are available at Innis & Robarts. Search by title in UTCat.

Selected bibliography of books on Canadian cinema (incl. Quebec) at University of Toronto Library.

NOTE: All titles below are available in a print version; many are also available as ebooks. The links lead to UTCat(alogue) where you'll find locations/call numbers. Thanks to Kass Banning for assistance with the compilation of this bibliography.

Gov't Resources - Canadian Cinema

Canadian Government Reports and Publications

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

National Film Board of Canada (NFB)

Telefilm Canada

Telefilm reports re: Quebec film production

SEE Investment Reports for a detailed breakdown of $$$ investments in individual films across the country (by region, incl. Quebec). Use the 'Period' search box at top of page for current (Jan-Dec 2012) and recent reports.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC Television)

Statistics - Canadian Cinema

SEE ALSO:

Using the UTCat link below, enter the Subject Heading, exactly as it appears, in the Search Box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu

UTCat Browse/Subject Search:

  • motion picture industry canada

TIFF Film Reference Library

Film Reference Library (TIFF) The Library maintains the world's largest resource of English-language Canadian film and film-related materials as well as a wide range of local, national and international film resources.

  • Collections
    • The Periodicals Inventory List includes American Cinematographer [1954+], Motion Picture Herald (1951-1958 & 1960-1978), and numerous other popular & trade journals from the studio era and earlier days of film).
    • The Special Collections include the documentation of the early work, script development and production by some of Canada's great film auteurs. The Collections boast all three drafts of David Cronenberg’s Naked Lunch, a handwritten script for Atom Egoyan’s Speaking Parts, and the original script from Don Shebib’s classic Goin' Down the Road. In addition to scripts, the Collections also feature storyboards, notes and other documentation, music scores, set designs and memorabilia.
    • Canadian Film Encyclopedia (CFE) includes over 750 film title, biographical and subject entries, covering some of Canada’s foremost historical and modern films and filmmakers. The film title entries include plot summaries, commentary and credits, and the biographical entries have a comprehensive list of film and video works indicating the person’s key creative roles.
  • Hours & location

INI100 - ASSIGNMENT 2 (Fall 2015-16)

2 Key Resources (immediately below) In all cases, don't hesitate to ask for my assistance to get you started!!! Please note that this week (Oct. 5-9), due to illness, Innis Library will be open Mon-Fri, 1-5pm only.

  • Canadian Film and Video: a bibliography and guide to the literature. Loren Lerner. 2 vols. 1997. EBOOK. Print versions at: INNIS, ROBA, SMC
    Note: This item will be especially useful for your assignment, as it contains Canadian material exclusively. Use the print version; the ebook is unwieldy.
  • ProQuest Note: This item too will be especially useful. Sample search: Enter search terms on separate lines e.g., enter title of film on the top line, director's last name below, so as to articulate your search request. Put phrases e.g., Winter Kept Us Warm in double "" quotes. Note: It may be useful to arrange the results chronologically (oldest first) in order to follow the entire production process of a particular film, from preliminary chat to reviews, box-office grosses, etc.

Film Indexes Online (1893+) is particularly useful when searching for journal articles related to a specific film or director and includes contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.

Film Review Index 1882-1985. Print only, at INNIS, ROBA, VIC. A two-volume set that lists films alphabetically by title, and indexes reviews from multiple sources. v. 1, 1882-1949; v. 2, 1950-1985. 

Canadian Women Film Directors DatabaseThis bilingual research tool contains bibliographies, filmographies, quotations, and other information about Canadian women directors and their films.

Media Commons (3rd floor, Robarts)

National Film Board of Canada (NFB)

National Film Board of Canada Collection now comprises over 13,000 titles, available in English and in French. This imposing archive consists of social documentaries in a range of styles, Second World War propaganda films, newsreels or newsmagazines, and sponsored films commissioned by other federal government departments. It also includes experimental films, Web documentaries, interactive productions, and auteur animation created with an endless variety of animation techniques (some developed entirely or partly at the NFB), as well as short- and feature-length dramas made for television or theatrical release.

Film Reference Library (TIFF) The Library maintains the world's largest resource of English-language Canadian film and film-related materials as well as a wide range of local, national and international film resources.

  • Collections
    • The Special Collections include the documentation of the early work, script development and production by some of Canada's great film auteurs. The Collections boast all three drafts of David Cronenberg’s Naked Lunch, a handwritten script for Atom Egoyan’s Speaking Parts, and the original script from Don Shebib’s classic Goin' Down the Road. In addition to scripts, the Collections also feature storyboards, notes and other documentation, music scores, set designs and memorabilia.
    • Canadian Film Encyclopedia (CFE) includes over 750 film title, biographical and subject entries, covering some of Canada’s foremost historical and modern films and filmmakers. The film title entries include plot summaries, commentary and credits, and the biographical entries have a comprehensive list of film and video works indicating the person’s key creative roles.
  • Hours & location

Canadian Feature Film Database (Library and Archives Canada [LAC]) The Canadian Feature Film Database is based on the printed Index (Canadian Feature Film Index) begun in 1972. The Database based on the Index compiles the principal credits of every Canadian feature film from 1913 to 2006; establishes a list of Canadian feature films from published information up to 2006; currently features over 4,300 films.

Variety (1905-2000, with some exceptions). It may be useful to arrange the results chronologically (oldest first) in order to follow the entire production process of a particular film, from gossip about potential stars to reviews and box-office grosses.

New York Times (1851+; Note: 3 year delay (most recent 3 years). It may be useful to arrange the results chronologically (oldest first) in order to follow the entire production process of a particular film, from gossip about potential stars to reviews and box-office grosses.

Toronto Star (1894-2011)

Globe and Mail (1844-2011)

Google Scholar Go to Advanced Search.


How to Find Reviews & Journal Articles

  • Select a journal article database;
  • Enter your search terms to find citations to journal articles.
  • Once you've found a citation that interests you, find the article, either online or in print form.

What is a citation?

A citation provides the information you need to track down the source; it may refer to a journal article, a book, an article/chapter in a book, an Internet document, a review, a newspaper article, etc. A citation usually includes:

  • the title of the article (chapter, book, etc.)
  • the author of the article
  • the title of the journal in which the article appears (or book in which the chapter appears, etc.)
  • the article’s publication information (volume, issue, date, page numbers)
  • and often an abstract, or short description, of the article. Select 'Details' or 'Preview' (depending on the particular database) to view the abstract.

Film Festivals

NOW Magazine

The Torontoist

Toronto Star (1894-2011)

Other Resources - Canadian Cinema