Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings

Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

• e.g., ray satyajit

If you prefer to browse the shelves 

• the main section for books about Indian cinema (history, industry, etc) is within the Call Number range PN1993.5 .I8.
• Both Innis and Robarts libraries have substantial holdings in their respective collections.

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
  Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
• International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Selected journals with South Asian film and film-related content:

• Asian Affairs v. 1:1(1914)+
• Asian Cinema 23:1(2012)+. Back issue vols. 6-22 in print at Innis Library
• Bioscope: South Asian screen studies v. 1:1(2010)+
• Contemporary South Asia v. 1:1(1992)+
• India Review v. 1:1(2002)+
• Inter-Asia Cultural Studies v. 1:1(2000)+
• South Asia: Journal of South Asian Studies v. 1:1(1971)+
• South Asian Diaspora v. 1:1(2009)+
• South Asian History and Culture v. 1:1(2009)+
• South Asian Popular Culture v. 1:1(2003)+
• Studies in South Asian Film & Media v. 1:1(2009)+
• Third World Quarterly v. 1:1(1979)+

• Ashish Rajadhyaksha, “India: Filming the Nation,” [excerpted], OH, pp. 678-684. EBOOK
• Douglas Gomery, “Transformation of the Hollywood System,” OH, pp. 443-451. EBOOK

Figurations in Indian Film. Ebook

Popular culture in a globalised India. edited by K. Moti Gokulsing and Wimal Dissanayake. Ebook.

City flicks: Indian cinema and the urban experience. INNIS; ROBA

Bombay cinema: an archive of the city. EBOOK. Also at: INNIS, ROBA

Saari, Anil. Hindi cinema: an insider's view. ROBA

Routledge handbook of Indian cinemas edited by K. Moti Gokulsing and Wimal Dissanayake. 2013. Robarts

The Cambridge companion to modern Indian culture / edited by Vasudha Dalmia and Rashmi Sadana. (Robarts, Trinity, St. Mike's).

Encyclopaedia of Hindi cinema / editorial board, Gulzar, Govind Nihalani, Saibal Chatterjee. (Robarts).

Encyclopaedia of Indian cinema. Innis, Robarts, Vic/Pratt

World Film Locations: Mumbai

Bibliographies are curated lists of resources on particular topics. You will need to look up the resources in UTL Catalogue, the Internet, or contact the Cinema Studies Librarian for help.

• Popular Hindi Cinema (Oxford Online Bibliographies, OBO)
• Hinduism In Film (OBO)
• South and Southeast Asian Cinema: A Selected Bibliography/Videography of Materials (UC Berkeley Library)
  • Indian Cinema bibliography incl. books, journal articles, reviews/articles about individual films, books/journal articles on Satyajit Ray, reviews/articles about individual Ray films.
  • UC Berkeley Library's bibliography was archived in August 2018 and accessed through Internet Archive's Wayback Machine