Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CLAB05/HISB10: History and Culture of the Greek World

Citing Images

You must cite the images that you use correctly. Use this link created by University of Toronto Mississauga Library to learn how:

Image Citation Style Guide

FADIS

FADIS

ARTstor

ARTstor

Grove Art Online

Internet Archive

Internet Archive

Flickr Creative Commons

Flickr Creative Commons

Image Collections at the University of Toronto

Often, you will need to find images in order to inform your own practice. Here is a list of resources that will help you find them. 

FADIS - Federated Academic Digital Imaging System

FADIS is learning management and courseware system developed for image based teaching of art and architecture. The goal of FADIS is the creation of a freely available common repository and delivery system for education and research available to contributing institutions.

ARTstor 

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Associated Press

News events from around the world with a picture collection.

Grove Dictionary of Art

Grove Art Online offers over 5,000 images, with a focus on supporting fundamental art teaching and education. Grove Art Online comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke .

Images in the Public Domain

Public Domain Defined:

In Canada, most works pass into the public domain after fifty years following the end of the calendar year in which the author died. However, while a work may be in the public domain, a specific edition or image of the work may be under copyright. 

Internet Archive  

The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. 

Public Domain Images / Free Photo collections

List of websites containing photo, film, and image collections available in the public domain.

Wikimedia Public Domain Image Resources

For a further listing of public domain sites visit this website. 

Creative Commons License

Flickr Creative Commons  

Study the symbols and use thousands of images as per instructions.

Wikimedia Commons  

Includes still images, videos and sounds. A great resource.