Skip to main content
Banner Image

RLG201H5: Introduction to Religion in the Literary, Visual, and Performing Arts

A guide created to assist students with their research and assignments.

U of T Collections

Digital Media Glossary & Using Images

JISC-TASI Glossary of Digital Terminology

JISC helps higher education communities embrace and maximize the use of digital media (still images, sound and video).

Simon Fraser University - Finding and Using Images

A good resource for basic information on how to use images.

Islamic Image Collections

Digital South Asian Visual Resource Collections

South Asian Collections

The Furniture and Decorative Arts of Sri Lanka (FDASL) is a documentary project that produced an inventory of furniture and other decorative arts that were created in Sri Lanka and are currently owned by Sri Lanka's cultural institutions and private collections.

The inventory is presented in an image database of approximately 1,000 images of 400 unique items that were photographed by the project's principal researcher, Ayesha Abdur-Rahman, from 2006 to 2009.
Use the Images section. Photographs are arranged in databases organized by the original collections. The American Institute of Indian Studies collection is a significant resource.

World Image Collections

Contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery
The Middle East Department of the University of Chicago Library maintains an archive of early photographs of the Middle East
The world’s most comprehensive collection of unique motion imagery
Global coverage: images, sound recordings and videos

Other Image Collections

Asian Art Museum

The Asian Art Museum is home to one of the most comprehensive collections of Asian art in the world.More than 8,300 objects from the collection are available for viewing online.

Huntington Archives - Art & Architecture in Asia

Contains nearly 300,000 original color slides and black and white and color photographs of art and architecture throughout Asia.

R.O.M. Images Database