Skip to main content
Banner Image

RLG201H5: Introduction to Religion in the Literary, Visual, and Performing Arts

A guide created to assist students with their research and assignments.

Religion Databases

A resource for researching religious issues and perspectives.This is a subset of Summon the huge interdisciplinary database you access via the "search all" or "article search" tabs on the library's home page. 
 
The major international index for religion, ATLA covers all scholarly fields of religion. Journals, selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope, represent all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and include numerous language groups.
 
The database provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology. Coverage includes journals in the fields of Christian, Jewish, and other world religions.
 
Covers over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It is a full text retrospective database.In most cases recently published issues of journals (past 3-5 years) are NOT available in JSTOR. The date of publication is extremely important to consider when using this source.Don't use an article published decades ago, aim for a more recent item. When searching the database limit your results to your subject area, for example, Religion or Asian Studies.

Search the Catalogue & More Library Research Questions

Tips for Database Searching

To find relevant articles and information in a database depends on your ability to construct a search.

Successful searching depends on Boolean Searching (Using And and OR) and Truncation (Word variations). 

DON'T PANIC

You probably know how to do this already. However, just to make sure everyone is aware of these tips, here are two tutorials to make sure.

Library of Congress Subject Headings

What are subject headings?

  • Library of Congress subject headings are the vocabulary by which librarians describe and organize items in the collection
  • Subject headings may be different from the natural language used to describe topics:
Natural language Library of Congress subject headings
Rights of women in Israel > Women's rights Israel
A history of women's social conditions > Women--social conditions--history
Feminist movements in the Middle East > Feminism Arab countries

To find relevant subject headings to your topic

  • Select subject from the drop-down menu
  • Work your way down the list of results, and click on a link to view titles tagged under that subject heading

Databases for Literature

A major comprehensive index to articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and in the study of Eretz Israel.
A major index to Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, past and present, providing access to worldwide literature in European languages.
A major database for Asian Studies, the Bibliography of Asian Studies is an important record of research and scholarly literature on Asia written in Western languages.
Bibliographic citations to Catholic books, book reviews, and journal articles. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
By unknown master (book scan) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Church singing, Tacuinum Sanitatis Casanatensis (14th century).