Skip to main content

RLG388H5F Mothers, motherhood and mothering in religious traditions

A guide to assist students with research for the course

U of T Collections

Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as other forms of visual culture
FADIS contains more than 100,000 images for use in the arts, architecture and general humanities
You need to login to this resource with your UTORid
You can search for images in JSTOR
Use Advanced Search, select Document Type, Image or Photograph, then add keyword(s) to your search.
The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Libaray.
Grove Art Online offers over 5000 images with a focus on supporting fundamental art teaching and education.

Other Image Collections

  • Digital South Asia Library
    Use the Images section. Photographs are arranged in databases organized by the original collections. The American Institute of Indian Studies collection is a significant resource.
  • Asian Art Museum
    The Asian Art Museum is home to one of the most comprehensive collections of Asian art in the world.More than 8,300 objects from the collection are available for viewing online.
  • Huntington Archives - Art & Architecture in Asia
    Contains nearly 300,000 original color slides and black and white and color photographs of art and architecture throughout Asia.

Digital Media Glossary & Using Images

JISC-TASI Glossary of Digital Terminology

JISC helps higher education communities embrace and maximize the use of digital media (still images, sound and video).

Simon Fraser University - Finding and Using Images

A good resource for basic information on how to use images.

World Image Collections

Contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery
The Middle East Department of the University of Chicago Library maintains an archive of early photographs of the Middle East
The world’s most comprehensive collection of unique motion imagery
Global coverage: images, sound recordings and videos