Skip to main content

RLG388H5F Mothers, motherhood and mothering in religious traditions

A guide to assist students with research for the course

Digital Text Collections

Digital Text Collections

  • Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
    The Gerritsen Collection is the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages. This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms
  • Defining Gender, 1450-1910
    A collection of rare primary source documents covering advice literature to women over five centuries. The database brings together approximately 60,000 images of original documents, both manuscript and printed materials, including a strong core of document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Section I: Conduct and Politeness Section II: Domesticity and the Family Section III: Consumption and Leisure Section IV: Education and Sensibility Section V: The Body
  • Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present
    A collection of primary materials of writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made. This collection lets you see how the women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. Regular additions to the database will culminate with 150,000 pages of documents.
  • Women, War & Society 1914-1918
    From the Women at Work Collection at the Imperial War Museum, London. The Women, War and Society, 1914-1918 collection answers the question that a young child might have posed to his or her mother or aunt, neighbor or elder sister, "What did you do in the Great War?" The evidence assembled in this collection demonstrates that what women did in the Great War was nearly everything.
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online
  • House of Commons Parliamentary Papers ( British )
    HCPP includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. The database delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.
  • Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
    Bringing together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century is the scope of ravel Writing, Spectacle and World History. The resources cover a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war.

Primary Sources

Type of Material Required

Your first assignment should engage with primary source texts (texts which are produced from within a tradition and from a given historical moment): these could be sacred texts, commentaries, autobiographical texts, folk materials, popular cultural retellings or representations, literature, etc. 

How do I find Primary Sources as an humanities student?

How do I find Primary Sources as a science or social science student?

 

Robarts Exhibition

The Evolution of Reproductive Rights in Canada  

This guide complements and expands upon the exhibition, The State in the Bedroom: The Evolution of Reproductive Rights in Canada, on display in Robarts Library, 2nd floor south portico, from April 7-June10, 2014.

It includes material featured in the exhibit and additional information related to the topic of the history of reproductive rights in Canada.

 

The Margaret Sanger Papers Project (NYU)

The Margaret Sanger Papers Project is a historical editing project sponsored by the Department of History at New York University. The project was formed by Dr. Esther Katz in 1985 to locate, arrange, edit, research, and publish the papers of the noted birth control pioneer.

Museum of Motherhood

Sharing experiences from a creative and connective point of view, this interactive exhibit features contemporary voices.