Skip to main content

ENGD48: Major Victorian Writers: The Brontes at Work

Research Guide for ENGD48 - Major Victorian Writers

Key Research Resources

Find Articles:
 

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Languages Association)

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic records in the Bibliography date back to 1925 and it contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including many peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Literature Resource Centre (Thomson Gale)

The Literature Resource Center from publisher Thomson Gale contains full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines, as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries. It also includes reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies;  substantive biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors;  full text of thousands of poems and short stories published in contemporary journals and magazines; overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics; and links to editorially selected websites on authors and their works, as well as pictures of well-known authors and audio interviews and reviews.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature

The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
 

More on the Victorian Era:
 

Victoria Database Online

The Victoria Database Online allows you to search over 100,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to 2012 on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.  Keep in mind that this is not a database strictly on LITERARY topics, but all aspects of the Victorian era.  It is always best to be cautious not to assume that an author is making reference to an event, philosophy, or discussion taking place in his or her era without knowing FOR CERTAIN that the author was aware of the issue, and was actually addressing it (even if implicitly) in his or her works.

Victorianweb.org

(From the site's "What is the Victorian Web?" page):
The Victorian Web, which originated in hypermedia environments (Intermedia, Storyspace) that existed long before the World Wide Web, is one of the oldest academic and scholarly websites. It takes an approach that differs markedly from many Internet projects...

In the Victorian Web we encounter books, paintings, political events, and eminent and not-so-eminent Victorians in multiple contexts, which we can examine when and if we wish to do so. The Victorian Web also differs fundamentally from websites like Wikipedia and many reference works, such as Britannica, and the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography: Each of these justly renowned sites (which authors of material on this site use frequently) aims to present a single authoritative view of its subject. In contrast, the multivocal Victorian Web encourages multiple points of view and debate, in part because matters of contemporary interest rarely generate general agreement. 

Find Books:
 

Search the U of T Library Catalogue: