Research guides: Literary Theory and Criticism: Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedias

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory.
Edited by Irena R. Makaryk.
Toronto: University of Toronto, 1993.
Divided into the three sections indicated by its title, this large single-volume encyclopedia consists of individually authored entries.

[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
Encyclopedia of Modern French Thought.
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Christopher John Murray.
New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450.
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Thomas Benjamin.
Detroit, Michigan: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007.

[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Elizabeth Kowaleski-Wallace.
Routledge, 1997, 2009.

[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
Encyclopedia of Postmodernism.
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Victor E. Taylor and Charles E. Winquist.
London: Routledge, 2001.

[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism.
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Michael Groden and Martin Kreiswirth.
Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1994.
This large single-volume encyclopedia covers theorists, movements, terms and critics. Entries are individually authored and each contains a bibliography.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
Encyclopedia of Semiotics.
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Paul Bouissac.
Oxford: University Press, 1998.
Signed articles with bibliographies and cross-references.

[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
Encyclopedia of the Novel.
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Paul Schellinger.
Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998.
A two-volume work that includes detailed entries on the world's novels and novelists, as well as ssues and ideas of literature.

[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism.
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Martin Coyle, Peter Garside, Malcolm Kelsall, and John Peck.
Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1991, 2003.

[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature.
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Mary Ellen Brown and Bruce A. Rosenberg.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1998.

[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory.
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Michael Ryan, Gregory Castle, Robert Eaglestone, M. Keith Booker. 3 volumes.
Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory.
By Wendell V. Harris.
NY: Greenwood Press, 1992.
71 entries are discussed using short essay-length format. Contrary to its title, this is more of a single-volume encyclopedia than a dictionary. Each entry contains a bibliography.