Provides access to the full text of articles published in humanities and social sciences journals from 1802 to 1995. Periodicals Archive Online covers 37 subject areas in the humanities and social sciences, and offers vast variety within these subject areas. There are over 2 centuries of scholarly publication in 40 languages and dialects indexed, including English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages
The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK.The collection includes approximately 300 primary titles of newspapers and periodicals and 300 pamphlets and broadsheets.
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
Unlike other digital collections, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 consists of works about the Americas published not only in the United States but from across the globe. This collection of important and many hard-to-find primary sources opens a window onto the society, politics, culture, religious beliefs, and contemporary opinions both at home and abroad that covers a period of more than 400 years
An online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century. Historical figures discuss everything from religious tolerance to animal rights, vulcanology to classical archeology, economic modelling to celebrity culture.
Sourced from the archive of The Worshipful Company of Stationers & Newspaper Makers, located at Stationers’ Hall in the City of London, this resource allows access to a vast and unique collection of primary source documents.
The Gerritsen Collection is the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages. This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works.
A collection of primary materials of writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made. This collection lets you see how the women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Bristol has a substantial collection of 19th century pamphlets, including the National Liberal Club collection, with pamphlets from the libraries of Charles Bradlaugh, John Noble, the Liberation Society, the Land Nationalisation Society, the Cobden Club, and others. Bristol's collection is especially strong on 19th century commerce, economics, finance, politics, religion and sociology. In addition to publications by Liberal Party members, it includes many pamphlets from other political parties.
Bringing together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century is the scope of ravel Writing, Spectacle and World History. The resources cover a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war. In addition a wide variety of forms of travel writing are included, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs.