Skip to main content

Industrial Relations & Human Resources Library

A guide to resources available through the Industrial Relations/Human Resources Library and the University of Toronto Library System

Legal Research

LabourSource is the source for Labour Arbitration cases (LACs) & Candian Labour Arbitration (Brown & Beatty) (also available in print at the CIRHR library)

LabourSource provides online access to:

Cases and Decisions:

  • Labour Arbitration Cases (L.A.C.)
  • Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries (C.L.A.S.)

Texts and Annotations:

  • Canadian Labour Arbitration, Fourth Edition (Brown & Beatty)
  • Canadian Labour Law (Adams)
  • Willis & Winkler on Leading Labour Cases 
  • Willis & WInkler Labour Arbitration: The Year in Review 
  • Corry, Collective Bargaining and Agreement
  • Saxe & McLean, Collective Agreement Handbook

Statutes and Regulations

  • Labour and Employment Statutes and Regulations


How to access the database:

  • Go to LabourSource on UTLibraries at http://go.utlib.ca/cat/9851363. You can also find LabourSource by entering laboursource in the catalogue.
  • Click on LabourSource under Holdings
  • Once on the WestLawNext Canada webpage, click on LabourSource under My Subscriptions on the right-hand side of the page.
  • You can explore by chapter or use the search box at the top.

EmploymentSource combines expert commentary, case law, legislation and dismissal notice periods. Employment Spectrum includes the following legal texts & looseleaf services, cases & commentary, legal guides and bulletins.

LabourSource provides online access to:

Cases and Decisions

  • EmploymentSource Cases and Decisions

Texts and Annotations

  • Ball, Canadian Employment Law
  • Keith, Canadian Health and Safety Law
  • D'Andrea, Employee Obligations in Canada
  • D'Andrea, Illness and Disability in the Workplace
  • Levitt, The Law of Dismissal in Canada, Third Edition

Statutes and Regulations

  • Labour and Employment Statutes and Regulations  


How to access the database:

  • Go to EmploymentSource on UTLibraries at http://go.utlib.ca/cat/9918713. You can also find EmploymentSource by entering employmentsource in the catalogue.
  • Click on EmploymentSource under Holdings
  • Once on the WestLawNext Canada webpage, click on EmploymentSource under My Subscriptions on the right-hand side of the page.
  • You can explore by chapter or use the search box at the top.

CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute) pronounced can-lee -- easy to use and highly recommended (no searching instruction needed) 

CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet.

This website provides access to:

  • court judgments
  • tribunal decisions
  • statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions
  • eText on Wrongful Dismissal and Employment Law (1st edition), Lancaster House, 2012-11-16 Table of Contents
  • The Supreme Court of Canada on S. 24(2) of the Charter, CanLII, 2012-08-07 Table of Contents

With LexisNexis Quicklaw Full Service, you have one-page access to the most comprehensive collection of primary and secondary materials, court decisions, legislation, legal commentary, current and archived news, and much more. You have access to 120 sources of information on labour & employment law. Includes Employment Law in Canada (Geoffrey England); Halsbury's Laws of Canada.

How to login to QuickLaw:

  • Click this link to be taken to the UTLibraries catalouge entry: http://go.utlib.ca/cat/7911931
  • Click "Link: Abstracts and Indexes" under Holdings
  • Login to my.access with your UTORid (if off-campus)
  • On the upper right hand corner, click on the down menu labeled"Product Sign-in"
  • Click on "Quicklaw"
  • Do not fill in login information, click on the BLUE BUTTON labeled "Register Later".
  • Click to Accept the Terms of Use
  • You are now logged in

Below are more detailed instructions on logging in and searching the database.

Lancaster House First Resort is a great place to begin your research.

First Resort is Lancaster's new comprehensive resource for labour and employment law. First Resort organizes articles that summarize and analyse key labour and employment law decisions into twenty different databases, each of which covers a discrete area of labour law. Also included in your searches on First Resort are:

  • Canadian Labour & Employment Law Journal
  • Labour Arbitration Yearbook Online
  • Leading Cases on Labour Arbitration Online
  • Wrongful Dismissal and Employment Law eText

Click below to download instructions on how to access and search the database.

Law Blogs

 

Loading