Skip to main content

Industrial Relations & Human Resources Library

A guide to resources available through the Industrial Relations/Human Resources Library and the University of Toronto Library System

Popular Databases

ProQuest

 

Search multiple databases with ProQuest, spanning academic journals, trade

and popular magazines, and newspapers. 

 

Business Source Premier

 

Premier source for business resreach, with access to the Harvard Business Review,

Datamonitor Reports, and SWOT analyses. 

 

Factiva

Find global buiness news and information with access to newspapers world wide, 

and coverage of all Canadian newspapers and companies. 

Google Scholar

 

Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including

theses, books, abstracts and articles. Make sure to always access GS through UTL for

GET IT NOW access 

Boolean Searching

 AND / OR / NOT 

Limiters are words that you use to refine your search: 

AND - for inclusions of terms 

OR - for alternatives terms / synonyms 

NOT - for exclusions - terms you want to avoid 

For example: looking for information on apple sales? As in the apples you eat. Try:

Apple AND fruit NOT Steve Jobs 

Search Tips

What is a peer-reviewed article?Search Tips

Articles in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed by a group of the writer's peers (academics in his/her field) before the articles are published. Many databases, e.g., ProQuest, give you the option to narrow your search by scholarly, peer-reviewed publications.

What does a peer-reviewed article look like? 

  • authored by researchers or professors and are written for an academic audience
  • the result of academic research
  • the author's credentials and the institution at which he or she works will be identified
  • have an abstract
  • includes footnotes and/or a bibliography
  • usually no graphics
  • little or no advertising

Is The Economist a peer-reviewed journal?

It is important to note that there are many magazines that are not peer-reviewed but are considered reputable sources of information, for example, The Economist. You must use your discretion when using a non peer-reviewed source in your research and, when in doubt, ask a librarian or your professor.

 

Boolean Venn Diagram

Boolean Venn Diagram