Oxford Bibliographies Online offers authoritative research guides to essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Select the Classics section.
Excellent source for identifying key works on a topic.
A searchable online version of the encyclopedic 14-volume Cambridge Ancient History collection.
This link will display the titles of each volume. Use the search box for the volume covering the time period of your research.
IMPORTANT: Stay in the Ancient History section, its easy to to move into other time periods and regions.
Online archive to primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome. Philology, literature, religion, art, architecture, and history are some of the areas covered. Hosted by Tufts University.
Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
― A comprehensive and definitive resource for artists’ biographies, published since 1911.
― Includes 149,000 biographies as well as auction records, exhibition histories, and over 11,000 images of artists’ signatures and stamps of sale.
"One-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology." Oxford University Press
A selection of reference sources is provided below.
Print versions are indicated by the icon
Online versions are provided when available, although they may be a previous edition in some instances.
Brill's New Pauly is an encyclopaedia of the ancient world. It is intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history. Brief articles offer easy, direct access to basic information - names, places, dates, objects — from all areas of Greek and Roman culture.