The Oxford Classical Dictionary
by Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor); Esther Eidinow
Call Number: UTM Course Reserves DE5 .O9 2012 NO ELECTRONIC VERSION OF THIS EDITION
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the mostup-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era. In over 6,700 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from around the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law,science, art, archaeology, near eastern studies, and late antiquity. New entries supplement the existing material, including entries on topics such as Adrasteia, Latin anthologies, Jewish art, ancient religious beliefs, emotions, film, gender, kinship, and many more. Other specific developments include an added focus on two new areas: "anthropology" and "reception".All entries are written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated to ensure ease of use.
Covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology.
Provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
A omprehensive resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture encompasses over 4000 years of artistry and innovation, spanning every art form, medium and civilization from Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire. The Encyclopedia provides authoritative art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments.
Brill's New Pauly is an encyclopaedia of the ancient world. It is intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history. Brief articles offer easy, direct access to basic information - names, places, dates, objects — from all areas of Greek and Roman culture.
A comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world, including Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman, from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Articles convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture.
An authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. articles on diverse fields such as history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
Oxford Bibliographies Online offers authoritative research guides to essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Select the Classics section.
Excellent source for identifying key works on a topic.
Online archive to primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome. Philology, literature, religion, art, architecture, and history are some of the areas covered. Hosted by Tufts University.