Germanic Literature & Cinema

This major bibliography of German literature offers more than 300,000 entries going back 50 years. The database provides detailed reviews of books, journal articles, and chapters in books that discuss German literature and philology. Entries are arranged by subject, then chronologically by period.

The print version is available at the Kelly Library.

The MLA International Bibliography provides citations to articles, books and some dissertations on literature and related topics published in the major European languages (including German) since 1963. It is the best source for identifying current and retrospective scholarship on German literature, literary theory, criticism, and literary history. For pre-1963 sources, see the print version.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]

This multilingual index, covering 1972 to 2015, contains more than 700,000 records to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports on humanities and social science topics. Coverage of German literature and criticism is strong, but the majority of the sources on this topic are in languages other than English. This database is no longer being updated but remains as an archive of materials published up until 2015.

Germany's national union catalogue provides 6.5 million records of monographs,periodicals, dissertations, and electronic publications that were published in Germany, written in the German language, or about Germany. An excellent source for identifying German-language materials on German literature, criticism, literary history, etc.

Cambridge: Modern Humanities Research Association, 1931-.
This source provides detailed bibliographic essays that survey and critique scholarly research on languages and literature. It can provide the researcher with an overview of the state of research in a particular subject area. For information on German literature, see the "German Studies" section(s) in each issue.