Irish Literature & Cinema

By James M. Cahalan.
Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1978 -.
This series provides detailed critical essays—often by well-known critics—on a wide range of authors. The online version is a scan of the print copy. Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC) contains a lengthy article on the Táin Bó Cúailnge (volume 30, p. 145-240).

Edited by Joseph R. Strayer.
New York: Scribner's, 1982.
13 Volumes.
Although a little dated, this 13-volume set is the major scholarly encyclopedia for medieval studies. Including more than 5,000 signed articles ranging in length from 100 to 10,000 words, the set is intended for all levels, from the high school student to the scholar. It contains a substantial introduction to medieval Irish literature (30 pages), as well as entries on Irish bardic literature and the Táin Bó Cúailnge.

Edited by James S. Donnelly, Jr.
Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2004. 2 volumes.
More than 400 articles on periods of Irish history, social institutions, organisations and important people fill this 2-volume set, including substantial articles on both medieval Irish literature and the Táin Bó Cúailnge. Each article includes a bibliography. The set contains the full-text of more than 150 primary documents.

John T. Koch, editor.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2006. 5 volumes.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
This central encyclopedia for Celtic studies contains more than 1,500 articles, including entries on Cath Maige Tuired, the Táin Bó Cúailnge, and Irish literature.

Edited by Kim McCone and Katharine Simms.
Maynooth: Dept. of Old Irish, St. Patrick's College, 1996.

Edited by Alfred P. Smyth.
Dublin: Four Courts Press, 2000.