Skip to main content

Film Genres

incl. Animation, B-movies & Cult Cinema, Documentary, Film Noir, Horror, Science Fiction, The Western, Comedy, The Musical.

Finding Books - Science Fiction Film

Using the UTCat link below, enter the phrase science fiction films, (or any of the other Subject Headings), exactly as it appears, in the Search Box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu.

UTCatalogue Browse/Subject Search 

Subject Headings

  • Artificial intelligence Philosophy
  • Cult films
  • Fantasy films
  • Frankenstein films
  • Science Fiction films
  • Sensationalism in motion pictures
  • time travel in motion pictures

for books about Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name):

  • e.g., scott ridley, etc.

for books about Individual films (Search as above; use last name, first name):

  • e.g., star wars or invasion of the body snatchers, etc.

for Horror film studios (headings vary; search as above):

  • e.g., Hammer film productions

If you prefer to browse the shelves:

  • books about science fiction films are shelved within the Call Number range PN1995.9 .S26. Both Innis and Robarts libaries have substantial holdings in their respective collections;
  • books about film studios are shelved within the Call Number range PN1999.

Finding Journal Articles - Science Fiction Film

How To Find Journal Articles

Interdisciplinary databases

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Science Fiction & Fantasy Journals

  • Journal of the fantastic in the arts vol. 1(1988)+. NOTE: 3-yr embargo
  • Science Fiction Film and Television (2008+)
  • Cinefantastique roughly from 1995 on, with a few earlier issues. SEE ALSO: TIFF's Film Reference Library holdings below.
  • Science-fiction studies (1973+) is a scholarly journal that publishes articles and book reviews on science fiction (sf), broadly defined. Certain sections contain works on science fiction film and television shows. To find these, search by title e.g., "twelve monkeys", or director, in the Search Box provided.

Bibliographies - Science Fiction Film

Reference - Science Fiction Film

Other Sources - Science Fiction Film

If an article you want cannot be found in the UTLibrary collection, you may want to search among the following local, off-campus collections:

  • Cinematheque Ontario's Film Reference Library Periodicals List (part of TIFF) has an extensive collection of film journals, often complete runs i.e., from vol. 1 on. The Library is located in the TIFF Lightbox, at King and John Streets, on the fifth floor. Holdings include
    Cinéfantastique
    • 1970 vol. 1 nos. 1 - 1987 vol. 18 nos. 1, 3-5
    • 1988 vol. 19 nos. 1-1991 vol. 22 nos. 65
    • 1992 vol. 23 nos. 1-3, 5-6
    • 1993 vol. 24 nos. 1-1997 vol. 28 no. 12
    • 1979 vol. 8-11
    • 1982-1987
    • 1988 v. 19-1997 vol. 28
    • 1997 vol. 29-2006 vol. 38
    • 2006 vol. 38-current