Skip to main content

Film Genres

incl. Animation, B-movies & Cult Cinema, Documentary, Film Noir, Horror, Science Fiction, The Western, Comedy, The Musical.

Finding Books - The Western

Using the UTCat link below, enter any of the Subject Headings, exactly as they appear, in the Search Box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu. Note: For books about genre in film use the Subject Heading film genres.

UTCat Browse/Subject Search

Subject Headings

  • western films - This is the main heading i.e., where the vast majority of books on westerns will be found.
  • frontier and pioneer life west (u.s.)
  • spaghetti westerns
  • west (u.s.) encyclopedias frontier and pioneer life
  • west (u.s.) history 19th century
  • west (u.s.) in mass media
  • west (u.s.) in motion pictures
  • west (u.s.) indians of north america
  • west (u.s.) landscapes
  • west (u.s.) social conditions
  • west (u.s.) social life and customs
  • western stories

for Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name):

  • e.g., mann anthony, or eastwood clint, etc.

If you prefer to browse the shelves:

  • books about western films  are shelved within the Call Number range PN1995.9 .W4. Both Innis and Robarts libaries have substantial holdings in their respective collections;
  • books about film studios are shelved within the Call Number range PN1999.

Reference/Monographs (selected titles) - The Western

Reference

Selected bibliography

Bibliographies - The Western

from Oxford Bibliographies Online:

Directors/Actors

from University of California-Berkeley, Library

from Senses of Cinema

from Film Studies For free (FSFF)

Blog

Finding Journal Articles - The Western

How To Find Journal Articles

Interdisciplinary databases

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).