Search with Subject Headings in the Library Catalogue

1. Go to UTL LibrarySearch Advanced Search
2. Enter any of the Subject Heading found below exactly as it appears in the Search Box 
3. Choose Subject from the Search Filters drop-down menu on the left
4. Press Enter or click on the Magnifying Glass icon

For additional information on subject headings in LibrarySearch, visit How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?

Subject Headings 

for Individual directors (Search as above; use last name first name)

• e.g., donen stanley, or minnelli vincente, etc.

for Individual films (Search as above; enter title of film then choose either Subject or Title from drop-down menu; do not use articles a, an, the preceding title)

• e.g., sound of music, or moulin rouge, etc.

for film studios (headings vary; search as above):

• e.g., Metro Goldwyn Mayer (not MGM), or Paramount pictures Corporation

If you prefer browsing the shelves: 

• books about musical films are shelved within the Call Number range PN1995.9 .M86;
• books about motion picture music are shelved within the Call Number range ML2075.
  • Innis, Music, and Robarts libraries have substantial holdings in their respective collections 
• books about film studios are shelved within the Call Number range PN1999.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO): These links will take you to annotated bibliographies that highlight key resources (books, book chapters, essays, articles, reviews) on the topic. Look up the resources using the UofT LIbraries system or contact Cinema Studies Librarian, Kate Johnson if you need help in accessing the materials. 

Senses of Cinema

• Great Directors - biographies, bibliographies, filmographies

How to Find Journal Articles

• How do I find an article by title in LibrarySearch?

Interdisciplinary databases

• Google Scholar (incl. substantial film content)
• ProQuest (incl. substantial film content)
• JSTOR
• Project MUSE

Film-specific databases

• *American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog (1893-1975) contains detailed production information about specific films, as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (i.e. New York Times), trade & industry publications (i.e. Variety), popular magazines (i.e. Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay), and review publications (i.e. Monthly Film Bulletin) among others.
• FIAF international Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) 
• *Film Index International (1900-present) includes directors who a) have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration and was released between 1928 and 1965, and b) have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
• Film Literature Index (1976-2001)
• Film & Television Literature Index (1913-present)

*There are no direct links to online content from these sources. See How to Find Journal Articles above for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.

• Film and TV music
• Film composers guide
• Le Courrier musical
• Motion picture & television music credits annual
• R.E.D. soundtracks catalogue
• The Official price guide to movie/TV soundtracks and original cast albums

• AFI's 100 YEARS OF MUSICALS 
• Everett, William A. The musical: a research and information guide.
• History of Film Musicals 
• International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
• Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film