Skip to main content

Film Genres

incl. Animation, B-movies & Cult Cinema, Documentary, Film Noir, Horror, Science Fiction, The Western, Comedy, The Musical.

Finding Books - Horror

Using the UTCat link below, enter the phrase Horror films, (or any of the other Subject Headings), exactly as it appears, in the Search Box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu.

UTCatalogue Browse/Subject Search 

Subject Headings

  • Horror films
  • Archetype (psychology) in motion pictures
  • Blaxploitation films
  • Cult films
  • Evil in motion pictures
  • Fantasy films
  • Frankenstein films
  • Masochism in motion pictures
  • Misogyny in motion pictures
  • Sadism in motion pictures
  • Sensationalism in motion pictures
  • Thrillers
  • Vampire films
  • Violence in motion pictures
  • Zombie films

for Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name):

  • e.g., argento dario or craven wes, etc.

for Horror film studios (headings vary; search as above):

  • e.g., Hammer film productions

If you prefer to browse the shelves:

  • books about horror films are shelved within the Call Number range PN1995.9 .H6. Both Innis and Robarts libaries have substantial holdings in their respective collections;
  • books about film studios are shelved within the Call Number range PN1999.

Bibliographies - Horror

from University of California, Berkeley-Library

  • Horror Films: A Selected Bibliography (UC Berkeley Library) - Extensive bibliographies of books and journal articles on: Zombie, Werewolf, and Slasher films; Hammer and British horror films; Italian horror films (incl. separate bibliographies on Dario Argento and Mario Bava); Asian horror films; directors Tod Browning, John  Carpenter, Wes Craven, David Cronenberg, Herschell Gordon Lewis, Val Lewton, and George Romero; and numerous bibliographies on individual films.
  • Notable Directors and their films

from Oxford Bibliographies Online

from British Film Institute (BFI)

  • Horror (2003) Incl. bibliographies of books & articles on horror film in general as well as well as on the Alien Trilogy, Dracula, Frankenstein, & the Hammer Studio.

from Senses of Cinema

Finding Journal Articles - Horror

How To Find Journal Articles

Interdisciplinary databases

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

4 Most Common Sources of Reviews (incl. release dates and other production-related information) which appear in Film Indexes Online (above). All are online in their entirety, with the exception of Film Daily (1918-1948 only; 1948+ on microfilm at Media Commons.)

  1. for Film Daily (1918-1948), go to Media History Digital Library Note: To search within Film daily, use double quotes "" around phrases e.g., "scarlet street".
  2. Variety (1905-2000, with some exceptions). It may be useful to arrange the results chronologically (oldest first) in order to follow the entire production process of a particular film, from gossip about potential stars to reviews and box-office grosses.
  3. New York Times (1851+; Note: 3 year delay (most recent 3 years). It may be useful to arrange the results chronologically (oldest first) in order to follow the entire production process of a particular film, from gossip about potential stars to reviews and box-office grosses.
  4. Monthly Film Bulletin (1934-1991).

Journals - Horror

  • Horror Studies
  • Intensities: The Journal of Cult Media addresses all aspects of cult media including cult television, cult film, cult radio, cult comics, literary cults and cult authors, new media cults, cult figures and celebrities, cult icons, musical cults, cult geographies, historical studies of media cults and their fandoms, cult genres (e.g. science fiction, horror, fantasy, pulp fiction, Manga, anime, Hong Kong film etc.), non-generic modes of cultishness, theorisations of cult media, relevant audience and readership studies, and work that addresses the cult media industry.
  • The Irish Journal of Gothic and Horror Studies is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, electronic publication dedicated to the study of Gothic and horror literature, film, new media and television.

Reference - Horror

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (2007,online) Enter horror or genre in Search Box. each Subject area provides an historical overview and bibliography. Horror sections include: Early History; Horror in the Studio Era; Body Horror; Critical Debates; with sidebars on Lon Chaney and George A. Romero. SEE ALSO: related Subject headings for science fiction and  fantasy films. Other areas covered include production, national traditions, studios, critical theory and film history, and many more.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (2001, online) - Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, etc.