Skip to main content

Film Genres

incl. Animation, B-movies & Cult Cinema, Documentary, Film Noir, Horror, Science Fiction, The Western, Comedy, The Musical.

Finding Books - Animation

Using the UTCat link below, enter any of the Subject Headings, exactly as they appear, in the Search Box, then choose Subject from the drop-down menu:

UTCat Browse/Subject Search

Subject Headings

Note: The main heading for animation is animated films which is subdivided by country/region, topic, theme, etc. For books about anime, use animation (cinematography) japan; for books about genre itself, use film genres.

  • alternative comic books, strips, etc
  • animated films japan (or canada, poland, etc.)
  • animated films history and criticism
  • animated films social aspects
  • animated films sound effects
  • animated television programs
  • animation (cinematography)
  • animators
  • autobiography authorship
  • autobiography in literature
  • caricatures and cartoons
  • cartooning
  • children's films
  • cinematography
  • comic books and children
  • comic books, strips, etc
  • comic strip characters
  • computer animation
  • erotic comic books, strips, etc
  • fantasy comic books, strips, etc
  • fantasy in motion pictures
  • graphic novels
  • horror comic books, strips, etc
  • science fiction comic book, strips, etc
  • underground comic books, strips, etc
  • women cartoonists
  • women's comic books, strips, etc

for Individual directors (Search as above; use last name, first name)

  • e.g., svankmajer jan, or miyazaki hayao, etc. NOTE: Use brothers quay rather than quay brothers; use disney walt for books about Walt Disney as director.

for books about specific films (Search as above, choosing either Title or Subject from drop-down menu):

  • e.g., snow white and the seven dwarfs, or spirited away

for Animation Studios (Search as above). Note: Use walt disney for books about the Walt Disney studio or company.

  • e.g., Pixar

If you prefer to browse the shelves:

  • books about anime and animation are shelved within the Call Number range NC1764 - NC1766. Both Innis and Robarts libaries have substantial holdings in their respective collections;
  • books about film studios (Disney, Warner Brothers, et al) are shelved within the Call Number range PN1999.
  • books about graphic novels and comic books are shelved within the Call Number range PN6700

Bibliographies - Animation

Journal Article Databases - Animation

How To Find Journal Articles

Interdisciplinary databases

Film-specific databases

  • The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Use the AFI Catalog to find detailed production information about specific films (incl. release dates and other production-related information), as well as citations to contemporaneous reviews from newspapers (e.g., New York Times); trade & industry publications (Variety); popular magazines (Motion Picture Herald, Photoplay); and review publications (Monthly Film Bulletin), among others.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from the AFI Catlog. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • Film Index International (British Film Institute). Coverage: 1900 - current. The directors selected for inclusion are a) those who have made a fiction film shown theatrically that is over 50 minutes in duration, released between 1928 and 1965, and b) those who have made a fiction film over 60 minutes in duration, post-1965.
    Note: There are no direct links to online content from Film Index International. See How to Find Journal Articles below, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) Search by keyword, separating each word or phrase by AND
  • Film & Television Literature Index (1913-current)
  • Film Literature Index (1976-2001).

Journals - Animation

Primary Sources - Animation

Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first ever scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Here are the works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.

Origins of American Animation (Library of Congress) The development of early American animation is represented by this collection of 21 animated films and 2 fragments, which spans the years 1900 to 1921. The films include clay, puppet, and cut-out animation, as well as pen drawings. They point to a connection between newspaper comic strips and early animated films, as represented by Keeping Up With the Joneses, Krazy Kat, and The Katzenjammer Kids. As well as showing the development of animation, these films also reveal the social attitudes of early twentieth-century America.

Rarebit - Early Animation Wiki is a collaboration between faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates at the University of Toronto and Animation Resources. A project for gathering and sharing information on the early years of animation, its initial focus is on the United States, but we hope that in time its scope will be international. The wiki offers biographical information on animators, historical data on animation studios, and an extensive bibliography of sources on animation and related topics.

Silent Animated Films at the Library of Congress (Prepared by Joy A. McIntire) A research guide including "more than 250 silent animated films produced in 1929 or earlier."

UCLA Preserved Silent Animation The collection of animation at UCLA Film & Television Archive from the years 1930-1950 is practically without peer. Nitrate prints of classic cartoons abound, as do original negatives or best-surviving printing elements for many of the films from animation’s “golden era.” Included here are most of the Max Fleischer and Famous Studios Paramount subjects; the George Pal “Puppetoons”; the independent productions of Ub Iwerks; many of the Van Beuren “Rainbow Parade” shorts; a large number of Warner Bros. cartoons; and a recent acquisition of “Terrytoons” still being sorted through as of this writing. By contrast, the pre-1930 silent animation holdings at UCLA are less extensive and, correspondingly, less impressive. However, with the extremely low survival rate for cartoons from the silent film era, this is to be expected. It has been estimated that eighty- to ninety-percent of all silent films--not just animation, but feature films and other short subjects, as well--have been lost to neglect, mishandling, vault fires, and nitrate decomposition. Given those figures, it’s fortunate that UCLA has as much silent animation as it does. That includes a sizeable number of “Aesop’s Film Fables”; original negatives to several dozen “Inkwell Imps” and “Out of the Inkwell” cartoons; scatterings of prints and elements from other series, such as “Felix the Cat” and Disney’s “Alice Comedies”; and the occasional one-shot subject that survives today only as a single print. Although best-known for its restoration of feature films, UCLA Film & Television Archive has been preserving animated films for more than three decades, with over one hundred titles to its credit. The short subjects, trailers, and promotional films presented here provide a representative sampling of that work. They have been preserved from best-surviving and sole-surviving 35mm nitrate and 16mm prints, showcasing many forms of animation spanning the entire silent film era.

Dissertations