Research guides: CTLB03: Introduction to Service Learning: Home

Read Assignment Instructions

Read your assignment instruction to determine the sources you should find....

"the sources must include a minimum of five academic sources, i.e. peer-reviewed journal articles and scholarly books (not Wikipedia). A maximum of ONE of these sources can be from course readings (if the topic is applicable).

Find Articles

Interdisciplinary Article Databases:

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Library article search (Summon) This link opens in a new window

Article Databases for Education:

ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center database provides access to scholarly and trade journals in the field of education, and also has broad coverage of grey literature from a variety of sources, including reports, technical papers, dissertations and theses, and conference proceedings.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
In addition to scholarly journals, also provides access to ebooks and conference papers across all levels of education.

Search individual journals:

Find journals recommended by your instructor in the library catalogue.

Library catalogue This link opens in a new window

Is Your Journal Article Peer-Reviewed?

How do you know if an article is from a peer-reviewed journal? Some databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed journals. For other databases, you need to look up the title of the journal in Ulrich's Directory.

1. Go to Ulrich's.

2. Type the JOURNAL TITLE (not the article title) into the search box, and click the green search button. Look for the journal title in your search results.

3. In the search results, look for a referee jersey icon to indicate that a journal is refereed. Refereed means the same as peer reviewed.

4. The Journal of Infectious Diseases is peer reviewed.

REMEMBER: It's the journal that's peer reviewed/refereed, so you are looking for the journal title in your search results, NOT the article title.

Find Books

Search the Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Books are available from UTSC Library, other U of T Libraries, and online. Remember: Your T-card is your library card.

Library catalogue This link opens in a new window

APA citation

Use APA style for this assignment. Have questions about citation? Drop by the reference desk (front desk) in the library or visit the UTSC Writing Centre.