Skip to main content

Gerstein Science Information Centre

EndNote X8 (Desktop)

How to use a citation management program to organize your references and create in-text citations and bibliographies for your papers

Other EBSCO Databases

  • AgeLine
  • America:  History & Life
  • American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections Series 1-4
  • American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
  • Business Source Premier
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
  • Child Development & Adolescent Studies
  • CINAHL
  • Corporate ResourceNet
  • European Views of the Americas:  1493 to 1750
  • Film & Television Literature Index
  • Gender Studies Database
  • GreenFile
  • Historical Abstracts
  • Humanities International Index
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals
  • Index to Printed Music
  • Left Index
  • LGBT Life with Full Text
  • Library Information Science & Techonology Abstracts
  • Music Index
  • New Testament Abstracts
  • Old Testament Abstracts
  • SPORTDiscus

and a few others....


Direct Export into EndNote

Search your Topic in one of the many EBSCO databases.
Select your citations
  • Add to Folder
  • Choose Folder View
Select references from the ones in the Folder
 
Choose Export
 
Choose Direct Export to EndNote
 
Save
 
Citations from the EBSCO databases are automatically added to the Last Imported folder.
 

Find and Save Citations as TXT

From your search, choose your citations by adding them into the folder.

Go to Folder View

Choose the Export function.

Choose Generic Bibliographic Management Software

Save

Import Citations as TXT Files into EndNote

In EndNote, prepare to import the citations:
 
1) Go to File > Import 
 
2) Browse for and select .txt file on your computer.
 
3) Under Import Option, select CINAHL (Ebsco)
    (if it's not listed, it may be listed under Other Filters)
 
4) *if necessary, change Text Translation option to Unicode UTF-8
 
5) Click Import button.
 

(Your references will appear in your Last Imported folder).