Skip to main content

EndNote - The "X" Series (Desktop)

A bibliographic management tool which imports and stores citations from our Library's wealth of electronic databases, and facilitates writing papers.

Exporting References: OVID databases (including Medline)

Directions on this page are based on using the Firefox web browser.

Other OVID Databases

  • AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine
  • A-V Online
  • Books@OVID
  • CAB Abstracts
  • Embase
  • Health and Psychological Instruments
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
  • International Index to Film Periodicals
  • International Index to TV Periodicals
  • International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
  • International Policital Science Abstracts
  • Journals@OVID Full Text
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook
  • OVID Healthstar
  • Social Work Abstracts
  • PsycINFO
  • Transport Database
  • Zoological Record

Export / Import Filter Tips

Different versions of 'X' series have different requirements.  The Export / Import Filter recommended here works best with the different versions of EndNote and with the U of T databases. 

Direct Export into EndNote

Select your citations.
Choose Export.
 
In the Export Citation List box, choose the following options -
Export to ENDNOTE
Select Fields to Display Complete Reference
Click Export Citations
 
In the Dialogue Box choose Open with Other
Look for and choose Research Soft Direct Export Helper
 
Another Dialogue Box will open.
Choose EndNote
 
Citations from the OVID databases are automatically added to the Unfiled Folder.

Find and Save Citations as a Text File

Search your Topic in one of the many OVID databases.
Select your citations
Choose Export.
In the Export Citation List box, choose the following options -
Export to Reprint/MEDLARS
Select Fields to Display Complete Reference

Click Export Citations

Save the .txt file to the desktop or other device.

Import Citations as Text Files into EndNote

In EndNote, prepare to import the citations:
 
1) Go to File > Import 
 
2) Browse for and select .txt file on your computer.
 
3) Under Import Option, select Medline (OvidSP)
 
4) *if necessary, change Text Translation option to Unicode UTF-8
 
5) Click Import button.
 
(Your references will appear in your Last Imported folder).