Skip to main content
Banner Image

HIS310H UTM History of Women Since 1800

A guide to assist students in the discovery of primary sources and secondary sources for the history of women in Europe since 1800.

Start with Summon

Summon

Summon is the U of T Library's meta-discovery tool that searches the Library catalogue as well as multiple databases covering newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. Enter the film title using quotation marks, director's last name, and year. For newspaper reviews, on the left under Refine your search uncheck the box Exclude Newspaper Articles.

Selected Article Databases

Film and Television Literature Index

Film & Television Literature Index is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.

International Index to the Performing Arts

Provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 220 international performing arts periodicals. Use filter: Document type to narrow search results to Film Review and Review.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)

Indexes the most important scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published throughout the 20th century in North America and Europe.

Film Review Resources

Finding Film Reviews

Reviews are important for understanding and evaluating books, films and plays. 

Summary reviews are usually short pieces published in newspapers, magazines,  journals, and online publications at the time the work has first come out and describe what the work is about, providing a short summary of the plot and its cast of characters. 

Opinion reviews also provide the reader with a summary as well as a critical analysis or evaluation of the work. While this analysis will not be as comprehensive in scope as literary criticism in a book of essays or an article from a research journal, a review is often a good way to get started.


Before you begin your search for a book, film, or theatre review you will need the following information:

  • title of the film
  • author & director
  • date of release, as reviews usually appear within a few years of a work's first publication/performance.

Search tip: To find reviews in online indexes and databases, search for the title of the work and limit the search results to reviews (usually found undercontent or publication type) if the option is available. Also consider limiting by date.

To find film reviews, use one of the following databases. Use the name of the film as a keyword. Or, you can add additional keywords to narrow your focus, as in the following examples.

   water and deepa mehta

   water and widow*

  • International Index to the Performing Arts
    Reviews will sometimes have the term 'Review:' at the beginning of the title. You can also narrow your results to reviews by:
    1. Choose 'Document type' on the right side menu.
    2. Choose 'Film Review.'
  • JSTOR
    To view the article, click on read online.
  • ProQuest
    1. Choose 'Document type' on the right side menu.
    2. Choose 'Review.'
  • Cinema and Film Studies resources
    List of additional Cinema and Film Studies databases.

Streaming Film