The library catalogue tells you what we have in the University of Toronto Libraries. You will find the catalogue tab at the top of the UTM Library web page or you may be used to using the UTL page to access the catalogue. Either is fine since both search the catalogue with items held by all the libraries at the University of Toronto.
The catalogue organizes material held in the libraries. Much of its strength lies in its ability to use 'controlled terminology' to group together authors and subject. However, users have to know what the terms are to access all the relevant material and unfortunately it can be challenging to identify these terms.
If you search for Annie Besant in the 'anywhere' field of the catalogue, you will get a selection of results. Look at the REFINE RESULTS column on the left hand side.
In the SUBJECT box you have a link for books about ' Besant, Annie Wood,1847-1933 (22)
In the AUTHOR box you a a link for books written by 'Besant,Annie Wood,1847-1933 (50).They will have may have different titles, editors, translators etc. However, they are written by Annie Besant and can be primary soources for this time period.
The Gerritsen Collection is the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages. This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms
A collection of rare primary source documents covering advice literature to women over five centuries. The database brings together approximately 60,000 images of original documents, both manuscript and printed materials, including a strong core of document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Section I: Conduct and Politeness Section II: Domesticity and the Family Section III: Consumption and Leisure Section IV: Education and Sensibility Section V: The Body
A collection of primary materials of writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made. This collection lets you see how the women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. Regular additions to the database will culminate with 150,000 pages of documents.
From the Women at Work Collection at the Imperial War Museum, London. The Women, War and Society, 1914-1918 collection answers the question that a young child might have posed to his or her mother or aunt, neighbor or elder sister, "What did you do in the Great War?" The evidence assembled in this collection demonstrates that what women did in the Great War was nearly everything.
HCPP includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. The database delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.
Bringing together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century is the scope of ravel Writing, Spectacle and World History. The resources cover a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war.
19th Century Masterfile is the first stop for researching pre-1930 materials. NCM aggregates all kinds of indexes to books, periodicals, newspapers, government documents and patents into a single resource. It is 'due diligence' for historians, making sure no stone is unturned.
A completely searchable facsimile of the entire run of the Illustrated London News.. As the world's first illustrated newspaper, the collection offers an unparalleled pictoral record from the mid-nineteenth century until the very beginnings of twenty-first century.
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.