Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intellectual Property Law

Case Law Digests

Canadian Abridgment

Dig. Can. A2 A26 LAW – main floor of the library, Row 19 (also available on WestlawNext Canada)

The Canadian Abridgment digests the case law of the common law provinces from 1809 to the present. Intellectual property is covered in the following volumes:

  • Vol. 58: Intellectual Property – Copyright, Patents, Trade Marks (3rd. ed)
  • Vol. 59: Intellectual Property – Trade Marks (cont'd), Industrial Designs, Trade Secrets & Confidential Information (3rd. ed)

Canada Digest

Available on LexisNexis/Quicklaw

Intellectual property is covered in the following sections:

  • Canada Copyright Digest
  • Canada Patent Digest

Databases

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) offers four public-access intellectual property databases.

Canadian Patents Database

Includes Canadian patent information from 1869 to present; in-text searchable from 1978 to present

Canadian Trade-marks Database

Includes all active trademarks and some inactive trademarks (especially from 1979 to present)

Canadian Copyrights Database

Includes all registered copyrights from 1991 to present, as well as some pre-1991 registrations

Canadian Industrial Designs Database

Includes all registered industrial designs from 2002 to present, as well as some pre-2002 registrations

Legal Encyclopedias

Legal encyclopedias are a good place to begin your research. They will provide you with a broad overview of a topic before you delve into the subtleties.

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest

Dig. Can. A2 C42 LAW v. 1-34 – main floor of the library, Row 19 (also available on WestlawNext Canada)

The following volumes cover intellectual property:

  • Title 34, Vol. 5: Copyright
  • Title 107, Vol. 24: Patents of Invention
  • Title 141, Vol. 32: Trademarks and Industrial Design

Halsbury's Laws of Canada

Dig. Can. A2 C46 LAW – main floor of the library, Row 19 (also available on LexisNexis/Quicklaw)

The volumes are arranged alphabetically by subject, with volume abbreviations indexed in letter rather than number format. The following volume covers intellectual property:

  • Patents, Trade Secrets, and Industrial Design (HPT)

Journals

Law journals contain articles, book reviews, case comments and other essays on a particular topic.