Skip to main content

BME440: Biomedical engineering technology & investigation

Articles

Research articles are often on a specific research topic, and are usually written in technical terms.

They may be original research, or a retrospective look at what has been done in a field.

They may be peer-reviewed (or not), conference proceedings, or  journal articles.

A good, comprehensive search will search at least 2 or 3 databases (and/or Google Scholar), since each database is slightly different and covers different resources.

Find Articles

You can use a database to find articles related to biomedical and biomaterial engineering. 

A database will search hundreds or even thousands of journals at once. U of T subscribes to multiple article databases that you can use to find articles from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources of information.

Many databases have direct full-text links to the article online. If there is no full-text link, you must look up the journal or conference title in the UT library catalogue.

Most indexes now have a 'get it!" button. Use this link to find online copies or to search the library catalogue automatically.

Databases

Here are a few databases that are useful for biomedical engineering.  

These databases focus on the Engineering Literature.

These databases focus on the Biomedical Literature.

This database focuses on the Chemistry Literature.

These databases are multidisciplinary.

This resource is useful for anatomy.