Skip to main content

CIN201: Film Cultures 1: Art & Industry

A comprehensive guide to scholarly resources - books, journal articles, primary source material.

Bibliographies

Cinema and Media Studies (Oxford Bibliographies Online, 2011+) "...a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites. With frequent updates..."

Bibliographies of Books and Articles in the UC Berkeley Libraries Extensive and in most cases up-to-date bibliographies of books and journal articles on a broad range of film topics. SEE ALSO: Specific pages above e.g., Other National Cinemas, Genres/Miscellaneous, etc.

Note: There is no direct access to the books & journal articles included within the bibliographies listed above may vary; check UTCat (by title) for local availability.

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, handbooks, etc.

The items below contain information (overviews, histories) on all aspects of film as both art and industry, including extensive bibliographies of books and journal articles. Note: The Schirmer Encyclopedia and the International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers have not been updated since the date(s) indicated. To find the most recently published books on any topic, see Finding Books. Reminder: The reference items below do not themselves count as sources for your bibliography.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (latest update 2007). A comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (latest update 2001) - Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, ...

The Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studies EBOOK. Also at: ROBA

The Oxford history of world cinema EBOOK.