Skip to main content

SII199H1S: The Process of Archaeological Discovery

This guide is intended for students of SSI199: The Process of Archaeological Discovery. Its contents may be helpful to others who are investigating the issue of archaeological discovery and the media's role in disseminating such finds to the public.

News Databases

CBCA (Canadian Business and Current Affairs) Complete @ Proquest

A comprehensive database for information on Canadian topics. CBCA Complete combines content from four specialized databases, including CBCA Business, CBCA Current Events, CBCA Education and CBCA Reference. Subject coverage is broad and covers academic information, business, social sciences, the arts, science, and current events. CBCA Complete indexes journals, popular magazines and newspapers, approximately 90% of which are published in Canada. It is searched through the Proquest interface.


Canadian Newstand

Canadian Newsstand offers unparalleled access to the full text of Canadian news sources from Canada's leading newspaper publishers available via the ProQuest Web interface.


Canadian Periodical Index (C.P.I. Q)

A major database for Canadian topics, covering other topics as they appear in Canadian journals and magazines. CPI.Q provides access to a broad range of journals and magazines, mainly published in Canada. It includes the full text of selected sections of The Globe and Mail from 1997+.


Factiva

Factiva is a full-text global news and business information service that combines the content sets of Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing, but should be noted particularly for its current and retrospective coverage of Canadian and International news resources from 1951 to the present.

Proquest Newspapers

With abstracting and indexing for top U.S. and international publications, ProQuest Newspaper Abstracts helps researchers quickly identify the information they need from among the thousands of newspaper articles published each day.