Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

Mentorship / Independent Science Unit (ISU) / Pre-University Guide

This Guide assists students in the Mentorship Program, Pre-University and high school students, particularly those in Grade 12 researching topics in the health sciences, biology, chemistry, earth and space science, and physics.

Free OnLine Resources

There are a number of databases, which may link to scholarly, full text articles.

1.  Directory of Open Access Journals: http://www.doaj.org/

  • covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals

2.  High Wire: http://highwire.stanford.edu/

  • 1,755 Journals, Books, Reference Works & Other Scholarly Pubications. 
  • The users of HighWire-hosted publications include researchers, clinicians, scholars, and students seeking the best online research from a vast database of full-text scholarly, high-impact materials

3.  Pubmed: www.pubmed.gov

4.  Medlineplus: http://medlineplus.gov/                              

  • great overview of a topic in health and related social sciences from an authoritative site
  • includes information for the patient, definitions from various handbooks and encyclopedias, as well as a section on drug information

5.  Google Scholar: http://scholar.google.com/    

  • searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research
  • finds articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, as well as scholarly articles available across the internet

6.  Google: http://www.google.com

  • to limit to 'Canadian’ content  -  http://www.google.ca
  • provides a good overview of a topic 
  • finds articles and reports from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies and authoritative organizations  – with links to more information. 

Search Hint

Remember
 
Putting in too many words will get fewer results than putting in the main keywords or concepts.
 
Putting in too few words will get huge results, making some of the citations  not be very useful.