Skip to main content

Slavic and East European Studies: Advanced Research Strategies

How to find resources in a particular field, locate theses and dissertations, and search for materials in Cyrillic.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database management system that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references such as book and journal article citations found in text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

RefWorks is freely available to all University of Toronto students, faculty, and staff. Citation information from the items in the library catalogue and databases can easily be added to a RefWorks account.

Please refer the RefWorks guide for detailed information on how to set up an account, import and export references, create a bibliography, and other features.

Click on the RefWorks icons to add the citation information...

...from a library catalogue record:

...from an article found in a Summon search:

1.First, save your article citations by clicking on an empty bar near the Save sign (see screen shot in steps #1 and #2).

2. Click on the # Saved bar in the upper line of your list of results (step #3). # indicates how many article you have saved so far. 

3. A pop-up window lists all your saved articles and gives you an option to export the citations to RefWorks

...from an article found in a databases, such as JSTOR
Note: as every database has a different interface, look for words such as 'Export citation', as the example below illustrates, which will bring you to a screen with options of where to export the citation.

Other Citation Management Software

There are other citation management software that may be of interest to you. Please refer the Research Guide below, as well as this comparison chart to find out the best citation management software for your research purposes.