Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Finding Slavic and East European Resources at UTL

Tips on searching for books, journals, articles, and e-resources from the Petro Jacyk Resource Centre

Finding Resources in Slavic and East European Studies

A guide to the University of Toronto Libraries' LibrarySearch platform includes helpful tips and video tutorials for basic, advanced, and browse searching, as well as for reading, refining, and saving search results.

University of Toronto Libraries has a list of Subject Guides where you can find research tips and tools, as well as recommendations to the best resources. To familiarize yourself with the guides in Slavic and East European Studies, in "Guides by Subject" select "Slavic and East European Studies."

The Petro Jacyk Central & East European Resource Centre website compiles information to many sources for research in Slavic and East European Studies available through UTL and in the Petro Jacyk Resource Centre (PJRC). This includes summaries for the following resources:

• Article Databases, Encyclopedias and Dictionaries, and Primary Sources

• Current and Historical Newspapers 

Primary Sources and Digital Archives

• Publications and Exhibitions 

• Special Collections

The PJRC also provides search tips for discovering primary sources, such as digital archives, manuscript collections, newspapers, collected works (correspondence, speeches, memoirs, diaries, etc.), held by the University of Toronto Libraries or University Archives, as well as by libraries and archives abroad..

In response to Russia's war against Ukraine, staff in the PJRC have compiled library and information resources that can help students and researchers contextualize recent history of Ukraine, Ukraine's relations with Russia, and the beginnings of the war from 2014 to the present.