The major database for world history from 1450 to the present. Historical Abstracts excludes Canada and the United States, which are covered by “America: History and Life”. Historical Abstracts covers the world’s scholarly literature in History including articles from over 2,000 journals as well as citations to books, articles in books, and dissertations.
Covers over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable. In most cases recently published issues of journals (past 3-5 years) are NOT available in JSTOR.
Chicano Database is the most comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for Chicano reference. Chicano Database identifies, in one place, all types of material about Chicanos and provides uniform subject access to this constantly growing body of literature. Plus: since 1992 theChicano Database has expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
This unique database examines interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas via in-depth essays accompanied by detailed timelines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more.
Articles in these databases have the potential to be primary sources, if they were written at the time period you are investigating.
Provides access to the full text of articles published in humanities and social sciences journals from 1802 to 1995. Periodicals Archive Online covers 37 subject areas in the humanities and social sciences, and offers vast variety within these subject areas.