Skip to main content

Australia, New Zealand & Pacific Islands Studies

Dance

Long exposure shot of fire poi ball dance

Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Dance Library resource

  • Available online
  • Search by country or by dance tradition

Oxford Dictionary of Dance Library resource

  • Available online
  • Concise entries

Recordings

Dance in Video Library resource

  • Available online
  • Covers some Australian dance companies

Ethnographic Video Online Library resource

  • Includes recordings of traditional dances

JVC Video Anthology of World Music & Dance Library resource

Journal Databases

International Index to the Performing Arts Library resource

  • Some coverage of Australian, New Zealand & Pacific Island dance topics

Art Full Text Library resource

  • Journal articles & reviews of visual & performing arts

Drama

The Sydney Opera House

Encyclopedias

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance Library resource

  • Available in online
  • Search by country, playwright, or theatre genre

World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre Vol.5 Asia/Pacific Library resource

  • Available online
  • Entries organized by country

Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre Library resource

  • Available online
  • Entries organized by playwright

Plays

If you know the title of the play or the title of the collection of plays, try searching the library catalogue by title. If you would like to browse plays from the region, try a subject search in the catalogue using your country's name, region or language combined with one of the following keywords:

  • Drama
  • Theatre
  • Dramatic Production
  • Performance
  • Performing Arts

Journal Databases

International Index to the Performing Arts Library resource

  • Reviews & scholarly articles

MLA International Bibliography Library resource

  • Good coverage of Australian, New Zealand & Pacific Islands drama

Bibliography of Asian Studies Library resource

  • Some coverage of drama in Australia, New Zealand & the Pacific Islands

Film

Kawakawa Theatre

Shirmer Encyclopedia of Film Library resource

  • Available online
  • Strong international coverage

International Dictionary of Film & Filmmakers Library resource

  • Available online
  • Search by filmmaker, film title, or country

Search the library catalogue

  • On the advanced search screen, select 'Videos & DVDs' from the Format drop down menu
  • Enter keywords in the top three fields relating to the title of the film, your topic or the country or region you are interested in

Australia Screen 

  • Clips from historical Australian films, television shows & advertisements

NZ On Screen

  • Clips from New Zealand film, television & music videos

Journal Databases

Film Literature Index Library resource

  • International coverage of film & television journals

Film & Television Literature Index Library resource

  • Scholarly & popular film & television journals

FIAF International Film Archive Database Library resource

  • Search multiple film indexes simultaneously

Bibliography of Asian Studies Library resource

Music

Matacawalevu, Fiji 09/2011

Encyclopedias

Grove Music Online Library resource

  • Encyclopedia of music & musicians
  • Search by country, region, or musical genre

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music   Library resource

  • See volume 9 for Australia & the Pacific Islands

Recordings

Naxos Music Library Library resource

  • Stream music online
  • Browse by country or 'World' genre

Smithsonian Global Sound Library resource

  • Stream online on a computer or through a mobile device
  • Browse by place, cultural group, or language

Search the library catalogue

  • On the advanced search screen, select 'Audio' from the Format drop down menu
  • Enter keywords in the top three fields relating to the country or region, musician or musical genre

Journal Databases

Music Index Library resource

  • Journal articles & reviews

International Index to Music Periodicals Library resource

  • Scholarly & popular music journals
  • Includes ethnomusicology journals

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Library resource

  • Strong coverage of international & world music

Bibliography of Asian Studies Library resource

Visual Arts

Red Dream

Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online Library resource

  • Searches 4 art encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press simultaneously
  • Entries for artists as well as countries

Digital Image Collections

ARTStor Library resource

Federated Academic Digital Imaging System, FADIS Library resource

  • To access FADIS, create an account using your UTORid & password

Digital & Digitized Collections, University of Hawaii Manoa 

  • Hawaiian & Pacific Islander art & photography collections

Trove, National Library of Australia 

  • Digitized Australian art & photography

Matapihi

  • Online images from New Zealand's archives, galleries & libraries

 

Journal Databases

Art Full Text Library resource

  • Scholarly & popular art journals

Bibliography of Asian Studies Library resource

Credits

Page format adapted from the South Asian Studies guide by Lana Soglasnova & Judith Logan.