Skip to main content

Australia, New Zealand & Pacific Islands Studies

Finding literary works in the library catalogue

Start at the library homepage

  • Enter the name of the author & the title of the work separated by AND

  • On the following page, select 'View all catalogue records'

Note: For more famous works, you may have to sort through books of commentary & criticism in the search results before you get to the actual literary work.

To help narrow your search to the actual literary work:

  • Click on the red 'Catalogue' tab.
  • Select 'Advanced search'
  • Enter the name of the work in the top field & select 'title' from the drop down menu to the right
  • Enter the name of the author in the second field & select 'personal author' from the drop down menu to the right

Note: For poems & short stories, search by the title of the collection of poetry or short stories. It may require some detective work to find the title. Try looking at biographical sources or even Google.

Literature criticism databases & indexes

Note: Library resource icon means resource requires UTORid login when connecting from off campus

Which database to use?

Article search on the library homepage

Pro:

  • A "master database" that contains roughly 80% of the University of Toronto electronic resources databases
  • Searches the full text of articles like a Google search

Con:

  • Sometimes too big to search effectively depending on the topic

Subject specific databases (MLA, ABELL, Project Muse)

Pro:

  • Fewer but more relevant search results
  • Usually uses controlled vocabulary to help you find more relevant articles

Con:

  • Sometimes not everything listed in the database is available in the library's collection
    • Click on  
    • If there are no links to your article, try searching for the journal title in the library catalogue
    • If the journal is not there, try ordering the article through interlibrary loan

Sample 'Articles' search using the library homepage

Biography

Note: Library resource icon means resource requires UTORid login when connecting from off campus