Skip to main content

PHYB56 Introduction to Quantum Physics

Resources for Dr. Bayer's course offering.

What is Peer-Reviewed?

Not all journal articles are peer-reviewed because not all journals are peer-reviewed.

Articles in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed by a group of the writer's peers (other academics in their field) before the articles are published.

It might sound confusing, but you know that an article is peer-reviewed if it comes from a peer-reviewed journal.

You can find out if a journal (and its articles) is peer-reviewed by searching for the journal title in Ulrich's, as described in the box to the right.

Getting Fulltext

When searching for articles in research databases, look for the  button* to link to the article's FREE full-text online. If we don't have an electronic copy of the article, it will also let you look for print versions of the article, or request it via Interlibrary Loan.  

If there is no"Get it!" link, or you experience problems, simply search for the journal in the U of T Library Catalogue or the Libraries' E-Journals Collection.  When full-text is not readily available online, make sure you use the title of the journal (not the article title or author).

Alternatively, enter the citation information in the "Article Finder" found on the library's homepage. 

*Different databases have different full-text buttons so you might want to also look for buttons labelled full-text or PDF.

Evaluating Journals

Examples of Peer-Reviewed Physics Journals

Is Your Journal Article Peer-Reviewed?

How do you know if an article is from a peer-reviewed journal? Some databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed journals. For other databases, you need to look up the title of the journal in Ulrich's Directory.

1. Go to Ulrich's:  Click to open Ulrich's.

 

2. Type the JOURNAL TITLE (not the article title) into the search box, and click the green search button.

 search ulrichs for journal title

3. In the search results, look for a referee jersey icon to indicate that a journal is refereed. Refereed means the same as peer reviewed.

look for referee jersey icon in search results

 

4. The Journal of Infectious Diseases IS peer reviewed.