Research guides: Consumer Health: General Health Information

Starting Places: General Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus - Evaluating Health Information
Includes: tutorials, journal articles & videos all about how to evaluate online health information.
PatientsLikeMe
Patient driven information source where people can share their health information, monitor progress, & help others. You can search for or browse more than 2,800 conditions.
HealthFinder (US)
From US Department of Health and Human Services, can be a good starting point for credible consumer health information.
HealthLink BC (Canada)
Get the information you need to make healthy decisions for yourself and those you care for, wherever and whenever you want it.
UpToDate for Patients and Caregivers (US)
Search for conditions or treatments using this interface to access free resources designed for patients & their caregivers.

St. Michael's Online Health Library

Offers easy to read health information that's specifically for patients & their families. The online health library allows you to search or browse topics.
UHN Health Topics

Designed for patients & their families, this resource allows you to browse general topics, body parts & systems, medical tests & treatments, & also has health information in other languages.
Mount Sinai Health Education Resources (Healthy Ageing & Geriatrics)

Seeks to provide reliable information to older adults, caregivers, families, and health care professionals on topics essential to healthy ageing.
Hamilton Health Sciences

The Hamilton Health Sciences Patient Education Library is a searchable platform that provides patient education materials.
CAMH Public Education Resources

Offers a variety of resources to support public education and raise awareness such as:
- Mental Health 101: an online series of tutorials on specific diseases & conditions
- Resources for teachers & schools: offers a series of online tools for teachers
- Workman Arts: a nonprofit professional art company that supports emerging artists and aim to promote a greater understanding of mental illness
CAMH Mental Health & Addition Information A-Z

Provides information about drugs, addition & mental health to help clients and their families learn more about mental health issues and addiction.

EatRight Ontario
Offers people answers to their nutritional and eating-related questions.
thehealthline (Ontario specific)
Enter your postal code and get connected with health services in your area.
Assistive Devices Program (Ontario specific)
People who have a long-term physical disability can get help paying for medical equipment & supplies. Simply pick a type of device and scroll down the page to see a list of REGISTERED vendors.
Choosing Wisely Canada
Aims to help clinicians and patients engage in conversations about unnecessary tests and treatments, and make smart and effective care choices.

Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center
Provides the public with access to current, reliable, and easy-to-understand information about rare or genetic diseases in English or Spanish.
Rare Disease Information
Provides brief introductions for patients and their families on more than 1,200 rare diseases. You can search or browse in this database and download up to 5 full-text reports each week.

What Did My Doctor Say?
Created by The Medical Library Association, this resource helps you understand what a doctor or nurse tells you. You’ll find tips on how to understand medical terminology or "medspeak."