Skip to main content

Bioethics

Notable Titles

Bibliography of Bioethics v. 1-35(2009) shelved in southwest corner on 3Below Z 6675 E8B5 Available for browsing by topics.

Bioethics at the bedside: a cllinican's guide, edited by Peter A. Singer. Gerstein stacks R 724 B56 1999

Blackwell Guide to Medical Ethics edited by Rosamund Rhosdes 2007edition; available in fulltext or in Gerstein at R 724 .B535 2007

CMAJ Bioethics for Clinicians series of 24+ articles on major bioethical topics

Cambridge Textbook of Bioethics 2008 edited by Peter A Singer & A.M. Viens

Doing right: a practical guide to ethics for physicians and medical trainees, 2d ed 2009, by Philip Hebert. In course reserves at Gerstein R724 D53 2009.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics:

  • 1995 edition, 4 volumes, available in print at Gerstein reference collection QH 332 E52

Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology from Wiley

Encyclopedia of Ethics from Routledge. Unusual interface: first select "Note on Use" frin tge keft nebyl tgeb ebter searcg terns ub "Look up Entries" obx: this opens the list of available topics.

Encyclopedia of ethical, legal and policy issues in bioetchnology 2000 "This text focuses on all aspects of ethics, law and policy relating to the field of biotechnology, including human subjects research, gene therapy, cloning, human genome project, animal and medical biotechnology, and disabilities."

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences from Wiley

Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research     2009 "...a great resource for nonscientists. The text is well written and approachable. This set brings together more than 320 articles that discuss basic stem cell biology; the work of individual scientists, states, advocacy groups, international organizations, institutions, and other countries; and the history, and ethical, legal, political, and religious issues surrounding this subject."

Health Care Ethics in Canada by Francoise Baylis 2004 edition, 518 pages in Gerstein stacks R 724 H448 2004

Law and Bioethics from Oxford University Press

Medicine, health and bioethics essential primary sources "A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th and 21st centures. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents--speeches, legislations, articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, works of art-as well as overview information that places each document in context."

The Oxford handbook of bioethics " impressive array of contributors and topics. Contributors include both well-established writers in bioethics Ronald  and some of the most promising young interdisciplinary writers. Topics include traditional beginning- and end-of-life issues, as well as challenging discussions of two-tier health care systems, biobanking, public and global health, and bioterrorism. This anthology is sure to become a classic in the bioethical and medical ethics literature"

Penn Center Guide to Bioethics  QH332.P46 2009 Gerstein stacks. "noteworthy and authoritative collection of 67 essays arranged in 12 sections....multidisciplinary scholarship that emphasizes empirical inquiry on bioethical issues coupled with practical applications"

Virtual Mentor from the American Medical Association for coverage of current topics